FootJoy Invitational Set for June 8-12

Posted by Andy Durham on May 14, 2009 at 11:10 am under Amateur | Comments are off for this article

*****from Jim Modlin at*****

Sedgefield Country Club to host the nation’s top junior golfers

BRASELTON, Ga. — For the eighth consecutive year, FootJoy and the American Junior Golf Association will combine efforts to bring the best boy junior golfers in the country to Greensboro, N.C., for the FootJoy Invitational, June 8-12. The 72-hole invitation-only event will be played at Sedgefield Country Club and feature a field of 99 boy junior golfers, ages 12-18.

Last year, Cameron Peck of Olympia, Wash., posted a bogey-free 4-under-par 66 during the final round to capture the victory, ending the tournament with a 9-under-par 271 tournament total. Peck went on to claim two more victories (HP Boys Junior Championship, U.S. Junior Amateur Championship) in 2008 taking home Rolex Junior Player of Year honors.

Invitations were sent to the best junior boys from around the world, including all 2008 Rolex Junior All-Americans, players who finished in the top 20 at last year’s event and top finishers at select national junior golf tournaments. Any remaining spots in the field will be filled with the current Polo Golf Rankings.

The FootJoy Invitational is one of 86 events the AJGA will conduct in 2009. This year, AJGA tournaments will take place in more than 30 states.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The largest Association of its kind, the AJGA has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of more than 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and more than 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA’s National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association’s success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Polo Ralph Lauren became the AJGA’s second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 200 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 350 wins. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Davis Love III, Cristie Kerr, Pat Hurst, Paula Creamer, Morgan Pressel and Julieta Granada.

For more information, please contact Sara Wagoner ( at 678-425-1786 or visit the AJGA Web site at

# AJGA #


Byeong-hun An Bradenton, Fla.
Bo Andrews Raleigh, N.C.
Anton Arboleda La Canada, Calif.
James Back Cerritos, Calif.
Zachary Balit Bradenton, Fla.
Tye Beall El Paso, Texas
Lucas Bjerregaard Frederikshavn, Denmark
Jay Burlison Salinas, Calif.
Franco Castro Alpharetta, Ga.
Matthew Ceravolo Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
Rak Cho Brea, Calif.
Phillip Choi Orlando, Fla.
Mario Clemens Beverly Hills, Calif.
Justin Clement Lexington, N.C.
Austin Cook Jonesboro, Ark.
Michael Cromie Cary, N.C.
Richard Dearinger Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jesse Droemer Sealy, Texas
Jacob Everts Ooltewah, Tenn.
Zhong Yang Fu Bradenton, Fla.
Robert Galbreath Jr. Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
Mike Genovese Pensacola, Fla.
Talor Gooch Midwest City, Okla.
Emiliano Grillo Bradenton, Fla.
Patrick Grimes Palo Alto, Calif.
Gavin Hall Pittsford, N.Y.
Nelson Hargrove Haverford, Pa.
Logan Harrell Huntersville, N.C.
Michael Hebert Orlando, Fla.
Juan Pablo Hernandez Mexico City, Mexico
Kramer Hickok Plano, Texas
Robert Hoadley Southern Pines, N.C.
Trey Kaahanui Tempe, Ariz.
Smylie Kaufman Birmingham, Ala.
Billy Kennerly Alpharetta, Ga.
Cody Kent Castle Rock, Colo.
Kyle Kmiecik Avon, Ohio
Brian Langley Blacksburg, Va.
Shane Lebow Santa Barbara, Calif.
Daniel Lee Valencia, Calif.
Davis Lee Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Jim Liu Smithtown, N.Y.
Joaquin Lolas Lima, Peru
Tom Lovelady Birmingham, Ala.
Landon Lyons Baton Rouge, La.
M.J. Maguire St.Petersburg, Fla.
Ernesto Marin Miami, Fla.
Chase Marinell Cape Coral, Fla.
Maxwell Marsico Las Vegas, Nev.
Ian McConnell Riverview, Fla.
Tyler McCumber Ponte Vedra, Fla.
Michael McGee Kansas City, Mo.
Brent McKenzie Cambridge, Ontario
Keith Mitchell Chattanooga, Tenn.
Daichi Morisugi Yamatokoriyama-City, Japan
Blake Morris Waterbury, Conn.
Clark Palmer Augusta, Ga.
Anthony Paolucci Dallas, Texas
Will Pearson Memphis, Tenn.
David Persons El Paso, Texas
Kevin Phelan St. Augustine, Fla.
Andrew Presley Fort Worth, Texas
Brenden Redfern Austin, Texas
Curtis Reed Castroville, Texas
Seth Reeves Duluth, Ga.
Crawford Reeves Greenville, S.C.
Robert Register Burlington, N.C.
Brandon Rodgers Knoxville, Tenn.
Ramsey Sahyoun Reseda, Calif.
Alberto Sanchez Nogales, Ariz.
Johnathan Schnitzer Houston, Texas
Jordan Shuey Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Jordan Spieth Dallas, Texas
Colton Staggs Tulsa, Okla.
Justin Thomas Goshen, Ky.
Curtis Thompson Coral Springs, Fla.
Jay Vandeventer Bristol, Tenn.
Daniel Walker Earlysville, Va.
Jack Walsh Lawrenceville, Ga.
Richard Werenski South Hadley, Mass.
Patrick Winther Howey in the Hills, Fla.
Chris Worrell Enid, Okla.
Bobby Wyatt Mobile, Ala.
Yao-Chun Yang Troy, Mich.
Shawn Yim Buford, Ga.
Michael Yiu Laguna Hills, Calif.
Andrew Yun Chandler, Ariz.
Ryan Zech Kearney, Mo.

Comments are closed.