All-conference honors for Greensboro College men and women

Posted by Andy Durham on February 24, 2010 at 2:09 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

Greensboro College women:

Greensboro College earned four All USA South honors presented by the conference today. The honorees were: Nikki Wilborn (Graham NC/Graham), Bianca Richburg (Hillsborough/Orange High School), and Jordan Joyce (Collinsville, Va./Bassett).

Wilborn was selected to the conference’s first team. The junior scored a team-high 20.7 points per game, which was second best in the USAS. She also had 88 steals, 93 assists and made 60 three pointers. Wilborn will enter her senior season with 1067 points, sixth on the GC all time list. She already is The Pride’s career leader in steals with 235.

Richburg, a freshman, had a strong first season with The Pride. She ranked fourth in the USA South in scoring (16.0/ppg) second in rebounding (11.3/rpg) and third in blocks (1.3/bpg) this season. Richburg also averaged 1.6 steals per contest. For her efforts, Richburg earned Third Team All-Conference honors while also being selected as the League’s Rookie of the Week six times this season. She posted double-doubles in 13 of The Pride’s games.

Joyce, who became all program’s blocked-shot leader (91) this year, earned a spot on the USA South all sportsmanship Team.

The 2009-10 USA South women’s basketball teams are as follows:

First Team
Kristen Keith – Ferrum
Jessica Moore – Christopher Newport
Chelsie Schweers – Christopher Newport
Nikki Wilborn (Graham NC/Graham) – Greensboro
Tonya Wright – Ferrum

Player of the Year: Chelsie Schweers – Christopher Newport
Rookie of the Year: Bianca Richburg (Hillsborough/Orange High School) – Greensboro
Coach of the Year: Carolyn Hunter – Christopher Newport

Second Team
Brittany Cornelius – Meredith
Katherine Flint – Shenandoah
Kara Hawkins – Mary Baldwin
Michaela Myers – Methodist
Ashley Washington – Averett

Third Team
Tesla Akers – Ferrum
Dezzire Gilliard – Methodist
Kimmy Hopkins – Christopher Newport
Liz Martin – Averett
Bianca Richburg (Hillsborough/Orange High School) – Greensboro

Honorable Mention
Brittney Bullock – Ferrum
Alexis Hargbol – Shenandoah
LeAnne Horne – Peace
Ashley Norton – Ferrum
Megan Rahn – Meredith

All-Sportsmanship Team
Kristyn Wharton – Averett
Lauren Gural – Christopher Newport
Ashley Clements – Ferrum
Jordan Joyce (Collinsville, Va./Bassett) – Greensboro
Sabrina Desper – Mary Baldwin
Hunter Johnson – Meredith
Adriana Wilson – Methodist
Rebekah Cain – N.C. Wesleyan
Brenna Mickey – Peace
Crystal Williams – Shenandoah

Greensboro College men:
Greensboro College men’s basketball earned four All USA South honors announced the conference today. Earning recognition were: RJ Smith (Charleston, SC/Porter Gaud School), Walter Brady (St. Petersburg, Fla./Gibbs), Adam Powell (Stuart, FL/Jensen Beach High) and Chakiris Moss (Richmond Hill, GA/Richmond Hill High School).

Powell was named to the USAS second team. He led the team with a 13.1 scoring average and shot 45-percent from the field. The junior guard averaged 4 rebounds per game and made 22 three-point baskets on the year.

A freshman guard, Moss was picked the conference’s rookie of the year. He averaged 9.5 points, 3.1 rebounds and 1.8 assists per contest. Moss led The Pride with 27 three-pointers and was second on the squad with a 42% three-point field goal mark. Additionally, he was named the Conference’s Rookie of the Week six times this season.

Selected to the honorable mention team was Smith, a senior guard. He averaged 12.2 points in conference games and 8.8 overall. He led The Pride with 3.1 assists per game and made 25 three-pointers.

Brady, also a senior, was The Pride’s representative on the USA South All Sportsmanship unit.

The 2009-10 USA South men’s basketball awards are listed below:

First Team
Jarmel Arrington – N.C. Wesleyan
Trey Drake – N.C. Wesleyan
Kevin Kline – Shenandoah
Brandon Malone – Averett
Derek Mitchell – Ferrum

Player of the Year: Jarmel Arrington – N.C. Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year: Chakiris Moss (Richmond Hill, GA/Richmond Hill High School) – Greensboro
Coach of the Year: John Thompson – N.C. Wesleyan

Second Team
Mark Blasingame – Christopher Newport
Tanner Carnes – Methodist
Adam Powell (Stuart, FL/Jensen Beach High) – Greensboro
Chris Schrader – Shenandoah
Conley Taylor – Christopher Newport

Honorable Mention
Mitchell Dudley – Shenandoah
Chad Hardway – Averett
Mark Jernigan – Methodist(Eastern Guilford HS)
Tyler Sigman – Methodist
RJ Smith (Charleston, SC/Porter Gaud School) – Greensboro
Lamont Stokes – N.C. Wesleyan(Northeast Guilford HS)
Jerrell Wade – Ferrum

All-Sportsmanship Team
Jeff Wehling – Averett
Theo Baker – Christopher Newport
Jerrell Wade – Ferrum
Walter Brady (St. Petersburg, Fla./Gibbs) – Greensboro
Mark Jernigan – Methodist
Tyler Murray – N.C. Wesleyan
Christopher Schrader – Shenandoah

Comments are closed.