Michelle Lemmons at Greensboro College named USAS Woman of the Year

Posted by Andy Durham on May 27, 2010 at 4:28 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors student-athletes for their collegiate achievements in service, leadership, athletics and academics. The USA South Athletic Conference’s 2010 Woman of the Year and nominee for the NCAA award is Greensboro College senior tennis player Michelle Lemmons (Apex, NC/ Apex ).

Lemmons concluded her collegiate career this spring as the number-one singles player for The Pride. She was a three-time All-Conference performer earning third team honors the past two seasons and honorable mention accolades in 2007. She also earned All-Sportsmanship Team recognition this past spring. Off the court, Lemmons has amassed a perfect 4.00 GPA while majoring in Biology.

Upon graduating this spring, she received the Harold H. Hutson award which is considered the highest honor attainable by a traditional Greensboro College student. Last year, she was a recipient of the President’s Scholar Award. She is a four-time USA South Academic All-Conference honoree as well as a national Academic All-American. Lemmons has received the Harriet Medina Scholarship for excellence in chemistry and earned the highest academic average amongst Greensboro student-athletes.

Lemmons also donated her time to many worthy causes including Greensboro’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and the College’s student-athlete mentoring program. Off campus, she has volunteered at the Moses Cone Hospital and at Community Access Therapy Services.

This honoree’s name and accolades will now be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The committee will choose the top ten nominees in each division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. From those nine, the 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year will be chosen. The top honorees from each division will be honored at a dinner in Indianapolis on October 17, 2010.

Other student-athletes chosen as institutional Women of the Year were Kara Hawkins of Mary Baldwin College and Brittany Insley of N.C. Wesleyan College.

Comments are closed.