N.C. A&T Aggies vs. WSSU Rams this afternoon at 5:30

Posted by Andy Durham on September 4, 2010 at 4:01 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

from www.ncataggies.com:

Game Details
Place: Greensboro, N.C.
Stadium: Aggie Stadium
Surface: Natural grass
Capacity: 21,500
Radio: WNAA 90.1 FM; Broadcast Team – Spencer Gwynn (Play-by-Play); Mel Swann (Color), Billy Covington (Color)
Internet: www.ncataggies.com; Broadcast Team – Walter Johnson (Play-by-Play); Marty Freeman (Color); Alan Hooker (Color) — $5.95 to purchase the game
Tickets: 336-334-7749

A&T’s Season Opener History
N.C. A&T is 47-32-7 (.595) all-time in season openers. The Aggies are 20-8 (.714) all-time in season openers at Aggie Stadium. Thirty out of the 47 times the Aggies have opened the season with a win, they have gone on to have a winning season. The Aggies have won their last three openers, including two against WSSU.

Series Notes
Series: A&T leads, 37-11
In Greensboro: A&T leads, 19-5
In Winston-Salem: A&T leads, 18-6
Alonzo Lee vs. WSSU: 1-0
WSSU Coach Connell Maynor vs. A&T: 0-0
Longest A&T Win Streak: 18 (1952-69)
Longest WSSU Win Streak: 4 (1982-85)
Last 10 Meetings: A&T leads, 8-2
Longest Current Winning Streak: 2, N.C. A&T
A&T’s Largest Margin of Victory over WSSU: A&T 60, WSSU 0, 1968
A&T Largest Margin of Defeat against WSSU: WSSU 48, A&T 19, 1989

Hall of Fame Game
The North Carolina A&T Sports Hall of Fame inducted 10 new members on Friday night. Those members will then be introduced to Aggie fans on Saturday – 25 minutes before kickoff. Among the names are three members of the Aggies 1991 MEAC Football Championship team. Tight end Craig Thompson, linebacker Leevarry Covington and lineman Richard Lide all played with current WSSU head Connell Maynor at N.C. A&T. In fact, Maynor and Thompson hooked up for 19 touchdown passes over two years. The other former gridiron greats headed to the Hall are Charles Stigger and Rodney Hart. Thirty-year track and field head coach Roy “Spaceman” Thompson will go in after five MEAC titles and coaching nine All-Americans. The two female athletes being inducted are former basketball and softball player Shirley Hall and softball standout Frankie Howell. Trainer Jerry Kimbrough and Aggie supporter Patricia Wall are also being honored.

A Quick Glance At Both Teams
N.C. A&T – The Aggies are coming off of a 5-6 season overall and 3-5 year in the MEAC…They return 14 starters (8 offense, 6 defense)…Among the top returners are running back Mike Mayhew, strong safety Justin Ferrell and cornerback Quay Long…Mayhew earned MEAC Rookie of the Year honors, while Ferrell claimed first-team all-conference accolades and Long was a second-team All-MEAC performer.

WSSU – The Rams will bring in former A&T great Connell Maynor…Maynor, who is in his first year as Rams coach, was the 1991 MEAC Offensive Player of the Year from his quarterback position…The Rams are coming off of a 1-10 season…They recently returned to the CIAA after a brief flirt with Division I play.

Comments are closed.