There’s a new Coach K at the Greensboro Coliseum: Kent and Page Pirates take Pizza Hut Title and Frankie Eaves is MVP

Posted by Andy Durham on December 30, 2010 at 11:21 pm under High School | 8 Comments to Read

This is Page’s first boys’ title in the Pizza Hut Invitational since 1989 and its eighth overall in 11 appearances. It is the first title for Page head coach Robert Kent.

All-Tournament Team
Cody Hylton – Northwest Guilford H.S.
Jackson Kent – Page H.S.
James Summers – Page H.S.
Frank Eaves – Page H.S.
Jaxon Randolph – Ragsdale H.S.
John McBeth – Northern Guilford H.S.

Jim Pritchett Sportsmanship Award – Patrick Chandler – Northern Guilford

Tournament MVP – Frank Eaves – Page H.S.

  • Turbo said,

    Way to go Pirates!!!!!

  • topfin29 said,

    Congrats to the Pirates. Jackson Kent was my vote for MVP.

  • ad4deacs said,

    Andy the 91 Page team went 31-0 and won the state. Does that include a loss in the Little 4? Also like to see an article about this tournaments namesake the Big 4.

  • Brian said,

    I think that Page last won a state title in 1990.

  • Andy said,

    I’m thinking that is how the deal could work…..

    Say Page was in the Pizza Hut tourney in December of 1989 which would be in the 1990 season inclusive and then the Pirates could have gone unbeaten with that team in 89-90 with Pearce Landry, Marc Lewis, Billy Kretzer Jr., Alfred Hamilton Jr., Churchhill Brown and at least a few more Pirates on the ship….

    Seems like I will always remember Lewis, Landry and Kretzer…….

    Maybe that is how it will work….

    I’m going to go get my Pizza Hut book….

  • Andy said,

    I may be close to money:

    Marc Lewis MVP 1989
    Mac Morris Winning Coach

    *****From Pizza Hut program*****

    And that would have had the tournament in December of 1989 and the (31-0) team wrapping things up in March of 1990….

  • Andy said,

    From deep in the bullpen in what might be the closer….

    Page was in the December of 1990 Pizza Hut Final, but they lost to Dudley 66-51….

    December 1990 and 20 years ago, last Page Pirate trip to the finals before this year of 2010:

    Dudley 66
    Page 51

    *****Steve Hankins was coaching Dudley and current Dudley assiatant coach Brian Seagraves was the MVP.*****

  • ad4deacs said,

    Well done Andy. One correction, I think Churchill played in the late 80’s. The other starter on the 90 team was Kevin “Opie” Ryan. His dad still works the chains for football games at Page.