SouthWest @ NorthWest Boys Basketball

Posted by Press Release on January 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm under High School | Comments are off for this article

With such a long layover between games, you never know what you’ll get coming out of exam week. Southwest took the short trip over to face the Vikings of Northwest. The game started off with both teams shooting extremely well as the teams traded 3 pointers like it was going out of style. The first frame ended with a 3 at the buzzer to put SW ahead 22-17. The second quarter had the Cowboys push the lead out to 33-23 and seemed to take control. But the Cowboys turned it over 5 out of their next 6 possessions to help the Vikings use a 10-2 run to close out the half at a 35-33 margin for the Cowboys. The third quarter was more of the same for the hot shooting Vikings as the took their first lead of the night at 38-35 and eventually got up 48-40 at the 3:43 mark on a 15-5 run to begin the frame. The Cowboys tried to claw back and another 3 pointer at the buzzer by SW cut the score to 54-51 in favor of the Vikings. Southwest even regained the lead at 55-54 at the 7:20, and even pushed it out to 59-54. But the hosts would not wither and fought themselves back in front 62-61 with 2:30 to play. NW converted another basket to go up 64-61 with 1:10 to play. At the 1:00 mark the score was the same and it was SW ball inbounding at their timeline. The Cowboys player caught it, took one dribble sideways and was called for a charge, his 5th foul which gave the ball back to the Vikings who went on from there hitting free throws for a final tally at 71-64. Southwest was lead by Jordan Hanner (22), and Brandon Clyburn (13). Northwest was lead by Cody Hylton (22) and Hunter Clary (21).

                   1st   2nd  3rd  4th   Final
   Northwest       17    16   21   17    71
   Southwest       22    13   16   13    67

Northwest: Hunter Clary 21, Cody Hylton 22, Ryan Doerr 8, Drew Coble 6, K Parish 2, Keaton Haack 12.

Southwest: Ray Bridges 7, Herbie Bridges 2, Jordan Hanner 22, Brandon Clyborn 13, Braxton Daye 7, KJ Langley 3, Saxton Cotton 4, Anton Morgan 6.

Comments are closed.