Elon Picked Fourth in Preseason Poll; Thomas and Latigue Earn Preseason Nods

Posted by Press Release on August 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference released its 2012 Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll and All-Conference Team today, August 15. Elon was selected fourth in the poll and received one first place vote, while senior forward Chris Thomas and senior midfielder Gabe Latigue picked up preseason all-league honors.

Furman received five first-place votes and was selected as the preseason favorite. The Paladins were followed by College of Charleston (one first place vote), UNCG, Elon, Appalachian State, Georgia Southern (one first place vote), Wofford and Davidson.

Thomas played in 22 matches last year and scored 10 goals, including three game-winners against Campbell, Clemson and Furman. Thomas netted two goals for the Phoenix in a 2-2 draw against Duke last season and was named the conference player of the week twice.

Latigue saw action in all 22 matches last season and ended the year with four goals. Latigue netted the game-winner in a 1-0 win over Georgia Southern in the 2011 SoCon Tournament, as well as a goal on a PK against UNCG in the SoCon Tournament title game. For his efforts, Latigue was named to the SoCon All-Tournament Team.

The Phoenix hosts UNC Asheville tonight at 7 p.m. in an exhibition contest at Rudd Field. The maroon and gold’s first regular-season game is slated for August 25 at Rhodes Stadium when it welcomes instate rival High Point to campus.

2012 Southern Conference Men’s Soccer Preseason Coaches Poll
   1. Furman (5) – 47
   2. College of Charleston (1) – 36
   3. UNCG – 35
   4. Elon (1) – 30
   5. Appalachian State – 26
   6. Georgia Southern (1) – 24
   7. Wofford – 14
   8. Davidson – 12
   () denotes first-place votes
2012 Southern Conference Men’s Soccer Preseason All-Conference Team
   F    Chris Thomas, Elon
   F    Coleton Henning, Furman
   F    Martin Onitveros, Furman
   F    Hakan Ilhan, UNCG
   MF   Sean de Silva, College of Charleston
   MF   Gabe Latigue, Elon
   MF   Hunter Norton, Georgia Southern
   D    Lee Williams, Appalachian State
   D    Walker Zimmerman, Furman
   D    Aaron Reifschneider, UNCG
   GK    Peyton Ford, UNCG

Comments are closed.