You probably haven’t seen this before:Pro baseball player strikes out on just one pitch!

Posted by Andy Durham on August 5, 2013 at 1:25 pm under Professional | Comments are off for this article

Vinnie Catricala, of the Midland, Eexas Rock Hounds(Oakland A’s) vs. the Corpus Christi Hooks(Houston Astros), struck out on just one pitch in a recent Double A baseball between the Rock Hounds and the Hooks…..

First pitch called strike one by home plate umpire Ron Teague and then after that Catricala was in viloation of Rule 60.2(c)…

If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Read all on this one at the ‘Big League Stew’ from Yahoo! Sports.com, when you CLICK HERE and it is a very good read….


Comments are closed.