Greensboro College Pride Football’s Blocked Punt Earns USA South Play of the Year

Posted by Press Release on December 2, 2013 at 6:53 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

FAYETTEVILLE, NC – The USA South Athletic Conference introduced a new endeavor for the 2013 football season as each week a “Football Play of the Week” was chosen. For each of the 11 weeks during the regular season, dynamic plays were submitted by the coaching staffs of each institution. The winners were chosen by fan voting and featured on both the USA South website and its social networking sites (Twitter and YouTube). Each weekly winner was nominated for USA South Football Play of the Year.

With 51% of the vote (24,172 total votes cast), Week #6 Winner, Greensboro’s return of a blocked punt for a touchdown versus Huntingdon earns USA South Football Play of the Year for the 2013 season. As Huntingdon attempted to punt during the fourth quarter, Greensboro’s Kyle Smith came through untouched to block it. His teammate, Joseph Lewis scooped up the ball and scampered 50 yards for the score.

The USA South Athletic Conference thanks you for participating in this initiative!

Full voting results:

Rank   Play Description                                                           Votes Cast
1.     Week #6 Winner - Greensboro - Kyle Smith Blocked Punt/Joseph Lewis TD         12,229
2.     Week #7 Winner - Averett - Justin Gillespie One-Handed Catch                  10,249
3.     Week #5 Winner - Huntingdon - Taylor to Belsterling TD                         1,474
4.     Week #8 Winner - LaGrange - Andre Carter Fumble Recovery for TD                  107
5.     Week #3 Winner - Huntingdon - Taylor Hughes Game-Winning TD Pass                  39
6.     Week #4 Winner - LaGrange - Nick Raszeja Big Hit                                  27
7.     Week #11 Winner - Huntingdon - Darius Dawsey TD Catch                             21
t-8.   Week #1 Winner - Christopher Newport - Marcus Morrast Game-Winning TD Pass         8
t-8.   Week #2 Winner - N.C. Wesleyan - Robbie Lanier TD Pass                             8
10.    Week #10 Winner - LaGrange - Jordan Chambers Big Hit                               7
11.    Week #9 Winner - Huntingdon - Anthony White INT                                    3

Comments are closed.