Elon Puts 36 on Fall Academic All-Conference Team

Posted by Press Release on December 17, 2013 at 10:03 am under College | Comments are off for this article

SPARTANBURG, S.C. ā€“ In an announcement made by the Southern Conference, Elon University placed 36 student-athletes from six sports on the Fall Academic All-Southern Conference team.

Over the 2013 calendar year, Elon had a total of 83 academic all-conference honorees.

Despite the league having one fewer institution this year, there were 329 student-athletes earning academic all-league accolades, 25 more than last fall. That number is the second-most in SoCon history. This fall, there were at least 22 representatives from each of the 11 SoCon schools, participating in men’s and women’s cross country, football, men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball. A league-record 20 student-athletes have maintained a 4.0 cumulative GPA.

To be eligible, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.3 cumulative GPA entering the fall season and were required to compete in at least one-half of their team’s competitions during the recently concluded campaign. In addition, the student-athletes must have successfully completed at least 24 credit hours in the previous two semesters.

The league’s women’s soccer programs provided the most academic all-conference members with 93, followed by football with 62 and women’s cross country with 55.

Appalachian State paced all league schools with 39 members on the academic all-conference team.

Elon’s 2013 Fall Academic All-Conference Honorees:

Jacob Ingle
John Loughery
Thomas McGuire
Austin Sowell
Dennis Wagner

Men’s Cross Country
Ben Perron
Ari Rothschild

Men’s Soccer
Mark Berlin
James Brace
Nathan Dean
Miguel Salazar
Jason Waterman
Matt Wescoe

Megan Gravely
Kris Harris
Ana Nicksic
Maggie Reichard

Women’s Cross Country
Sabina Bains
Elyse Bierut
Haylee Dawe
Jenny Gallagher
Erin Macbeth
Brennan McDavid
Amanda Parker
Kaitlin Snapp
Kaitlin Stober
Ellie Taff

Women’s Soccer
Samantha Burch
Nicole Dennion
Raychel Diver
Kim Gardner
Taylor Glenn
Julie Hibberd
Bethany Houpt
Kate Murphy
Chelsey Stark

Comments are closed.