Elon Places 18 Student-Athletes on Winter Academic All-Conference Team

Posted by Press Release on April 1, 2014 at 1:43 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Elon University had 18 student-athletes selected to the Southern Conference Academic All-Conference team for the 2013-14 winter term the league office announced today, April 1. Elon surpassed last year’s winter total in its three sponsored winter sports.

A total of 160 student-athletes were selected to the academic all-conference team with all 11 SoCon member institutions being represented. The total was comprised of student-athletes in the sports of men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s indoor track and field, and wrestling.

To be eligible for the academic all-conference team, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.3 cumulative GPA entering the winter season and were required to compete in at least one-half of their teams’ competitions during the recently concluded winter campaign. In addition, the student-athletes must have successfully completed at least 24 credit hours in the previous two semesters.

The league’s 11 women’s indoor track and field programs provided the most academic all-conference members with 79, followed by the nine men’s indoor track and field programs with 38 selections and the 10 women’s basketball programs with 30.

Among member institutions, Appalachian State led all schools with 23 members on the academic all-conference team. Chattanooga was second with 20, while Western Carolina had 19.

Elon’s 2013-14 Winter Academic All-Conference Honorees:

Men’s Basketball
Jack Isenbarger

Women’s Basketball
Sam Coffer
Jessica Farmer
Kelsey Harris
Zora Stephenson

Women’s Indoor Track & Field
Sabina Bains
Elyse Bierut
Kayleigh Birks
Marie Borowycz
Samantha Brown
Megan Kirschling
Veronica Luedke
Brennan McDavid
Jennifer Pash
Claire Smith
Kaitlin Snapp
Abigail Steinsiek
Bria Turner

Comments are closed.