Elon’s Munro Named Women’s Golf Rookie of the Year; Three Earn All-CAA Honors

Posted by Press Release on May 13, 2015 at 2:12 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

RICHMOND, Va. – Three Elon women’s golfers earned all-league honors, including Heather Munro who was named the CAA Rookie of the Year, following the Phoenix’s inaugural season in the Colonial Athletic Association. Munro, along with Kelsey Badmaev and Sunna Vidisdottir, were second-team All-CAA honorees. Vidisdottir was also selected to the league’s all-academic team.

Munro had an outstanding rookie campaign as she posted a 75.81 stroke average over 27 rounds. In the CAA Championship, Munro tied for second after holding the lead following each of the first two rounds of play. The Dundee, Scotland, native began her Elon career by tying for fourth at the W&M Invitational. She tied for 10th at the FGCU Eagle Invitational as the Phoenix won its third tournament of the 2014-15 season.

Badmaev, the 2014-15 team MVP, earned CAA Golfer of the Week honors twice during her sophomore season. Over 27 rounds, Badmaev posted a 75.41 stroke average. The Blythewood, S.C., native had five top-10 showings in nine tournaments, including capturing the individual crown at the W&M Invitational to open the fall season.

Vidisdottir averaged a 76.04 over her 27 rounds during her junior year. A native of Reykjavik, Iceland, Vidisdottir’s best finish this year was a third-place showing at the FGCU Eagle Invitational. She also began the year by tying for ninth at the W&M Invitational and twice tied for 11th. Vidisdottir earned her spot on the CAA All-Academic Team thanks to a 3.96 GPA as a finance and statistics major.

2015 All-CAA Women’s Golf Teams
First Team
Mary Chandler Bryan, College of Charleston
Laura Fuenfstueck, College of Charleston
Alessandra Liu, William & Mary
Annette Lyche, UNCW
Andi Slane, Delaware

Second Team
Kelsey Badmaev, Elon
C.C. Buford, College of Charleston
Laura Gomez Ruiz, James Madison
Heather Munro, Elon
Louise Olsson, College of Charleston
Sunna Vidisdottir, Elon

CAA Women’s Golfer of the Year: Laura Fuenfstueck, College of Charleston
CAA Women’s Golf Rookie of the Year: Heather Munro, Elon
CAA Women’s Golf Coach of the Year: Jamie Futrell, College of Charleston

All-Academic Team
Grace Chua, Delaware
Annette Lyche, UNCW
Anna McMullen, William & Mary
Mackenzie Rice, Towson
Victoria Snak, Hofstra
Sunna Vidisdottir, Elon
Rachel Walker, James Madison
Morgan Webber, College of Charleston

Comments are closed.