Elon’s Cooper Earns ABCA All-Region Baseball Honors

Posted by Press Release on June 10, 2015 at 2:06 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

GREENSBORO, N.C. ā€“ Elon senior outfielder Ryan Cooper picked up an honor that only six other Phoenix baseball players had ever earned before as the American Baseball Coaches Association announced its all-region teams on Wednesday, June 10. Cooper was selected to the ABCA/Rawlings Atlantic All-Region squad as a first team honoree.

Cooper, who hails from Owensville, Mo., led Elon and ranked second in the CAA with a .373 batting average while earning first-team All-CAA accolades. He also scored a team-high 45 runs and finished with 42 RBI. Of Cooper’s team-leading 75 hits, 22 went for extra bases (13 doubles, two triples and seven home runs) as he slugged .562 to rank sixth in the league. Cooper’s .414 batting average in CAA games was the best of any player in the league and his 41 hits in conference play tied for first. Cooper is one of two players to start every game in each of the past two seasons.

With his selection, Cooper is now eligible for ABCA All-American honors.

Previous Elon players to earn all-region honors were Robert Rodebaugh (first team South in 2006), Cory Harrilchak (second team South in 2008), Steven Hensley (second team South in 2008), Chase Austin (first team South in 2009), Pat Irvine (first team South in 2009) and Ryan Kinsella (first team Atlantic in 2013).

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and is the oldest All-America team in college baseball. The ABCA All-America committee is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University and also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O’Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Steve Smith (Baylor), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.

ABCA/Rawlings Atlantic All-Region Teams
First Team
C – Zack Collins, Miami
1B – Will Craig, Wake Forest
2B – Blake Butler, College of Charleston
3B – David Thompson, Miami
SS – Logan Ratledge, North Carolina State
OF – DJ Stewart, Florida State
OF – Ryan Cooper, Elon
OF – Lee Miller, Davidson
DH – Patrick Marshall, Radford
P – Taylor Clarke, College of Charleston
P – Mike Shawaryn, Maryland
P – Matthew Crownover, Clemson
RP – Ryan Meisinger, Radford

Second Team
C – Chris Okey, Clemson
1B – Nick Pappas, College of Charleston
2B – George Iskenderian, Miami
3B – Carl Wise, College of Charleston
SS – Michael Paez, Coastal Carolina
OF – Cole Hallum, Campbell
OF – Cedric Mullins, Campbell
OF – Reed Rohlman, Clemson
OF – Connor Walsh, The Citadel
DH – A.J. Murray, Georgia Tech
P – Jared Lyons, Liberty
P – Brandon Glazer, College of Charleston
P – Michael Boyle, Radford
RP – Josh Sborz, Virginia

Comments are closed.