Elon Duo Collects All-CAA Honors for Women’s Golf

Posted by Press Release on April 26, 2017 at 3:07 pm under College | Comments are off for this article

RICHMOND, Va. – The Elon University women’s golf team was represented on the postseason All-CAA Team by senior Kelsey Badmaev and junior Heather Munro as announced by the league office on Wednesday, April 26. Both were first-team all-league picks, while Munro also garnered All-Academic Team distinction.

Badmaev, a native of Blythewood, S.C., picked up the fourth all-conference honor of her career and her second straight first-team All-CAA nod. Over the course of nine tournaments this year, Badmaev recorded a 74.73 stroke average over 26 rounds. She earned a pair of third-place finishes and a total of three top-five showings over her senior campaign. The two-time CAA Golfer of the Week in 2016-17, Badmaev carded a season-low round of 70 on her way to a third-place finish at the Mimosa Hills Intercollegiate. Her top 54-hole score of the year was a two-over 218 at the Lady Pirate Intercollegiate where she tied for fifth individually as the Phoenix placed second as a team.

Over her four seasons with the Phoenix, Badmaev appeared in 38 tournaments with an average score of 74.87 over 109 rounds. She had nine top-five finishes and 17 top-10 performances during her career. She won a total of three individual titles.

Munro, who hails from Dundee, Scotland, earned her third consecutive all-conference honor, including two straight first-team nods. Over 26 rounds in nine tournaments in 2016-17, Munro posted an average score of 74.88. Her top finish was a sixth-place showing at the Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Classic where she shot a three-under 213 to match the best 54-hole score of her career. She twice carded a season-low round of 70.

In three seasons, Munro has played in 28 tournaments and averaged a 75.22 over 82 rounds. She has had four top-five finishes and nine top-10 showings in that time.

2017 All-CAA Women’s Golf Teams
First Team

Lyberty Anderson, UNCW
Kelsey Badmaev, Elon
Maddisen Cox, James Madison
Laura Fuenfstueck, College of Charleston
Ariane Klotz, Delaware
Heather Munro, Elon

Second Team
Katie Edelblut, William & Mary
Josefine Garton, College of Charleston
Laura Gomez-Ruiz, James Madison
Ellinoora Moisio, UNCW
Thao My Nguyen, UNCW

CAA Women’s Golfer of the Year: Laura Fuenfstueck, College of Charleston
CAA Women’s Golf Rookie of the Year: Ariane Klotz, Delaware
CAA Women’s Golf Coach of the Year: Patty Post, Delaware

CAA All-Academic Team
Grace Chua, Delaware
Maddisen Cox, James Madison
Victoriea Drechsler, College of Charleston
Katie Edelblut, William & Mary
Heather Munro, Elon
Mackenzie Rice, Towson
Victoria Snak, Hofstra
Alaina Yeatts, UNCW

Comments are closed.