Elon Women’s Soccer Announces 2017 Schedule

Posted by Press Release on June 21, 2017 at 10:26 am under College | Comments are off for this article

ELON, N.C. – Elon University head women’s soccer coach Chris Neal announced his team’s schedule for the upcoming 2017 season on Wednesday, June 21.

FULL SCHEDULE

The Phoenix will play nine home matches at Rudd Field, including non-conference matchups against NC State, High Point, Western Carolina and Chattanooga.

“It’s a challenging schedule,” said Neal. “Our non-conference segment includes a combination of teams that are already competing at an incredibly high level and programs that are quickly on the rise. Every game on the schedule brings a unique challenge. Hot playing conditions, long travel, different surfaces, great coaches with well organized teams, and classic rivalries are all elements included in our non-conference segment that hopefully will prepare us for conference play.”

Following a road exhibition match against East Carolina on Saturday, August 12, the Phoenix kicks off the year with a three-game road swing. Elon heads to Florida for its opening weekend to face North Florida on Friday, August 18, and Jacksonville on Sunday, August 20.

The maroon and gold returns to North Carolina and head to Greensboro on Thursday, August 24, to take on UNCG at 7 p.m.

The Phoenix will then hosts two former Southern Conference rivals beginning with Chattanooga in its home opener on Sunday, August 27, at 2 p.m. on Rudd Field. The three-match homestand continues on Thursday, August 31, at 7 p.m. against Western Carolina.

Elon will then welcome ACC in-state foe NC State to Rudd Field on Sunday, Sept. 3, at 7 p.m. The Wolfpack reached the third round of the NCAA tournament just a year ago. It will be the first time the Phoenix will host an ACC opponent since facing Clemson during the 2014 season at Rudd Field.

The squad will then take the road for three of its final four non-conference matches, beginning with a road and home weekend split. The Phoenix begins the four-game stretch with a trek to Richmond to take on the Spiders on Thursday, Sept. 7, at 7 p.m. Elon then returns to Rudd Field one last time before league play begins to face Triad rival High Point for a 7 p.m. kick off.

Non-conference action concludes with a two-game road swing at UNC Asheville on Thursday, Sept. 14, and at Davidson on Sunday, Sept. 17.

Elon will then get set to begin a tough slate of Colonial Athletic Association action. “The CAA is simply one of the best women’s soccer conferences in the country,” explained Neal. “Every game feels like a championship match. Last season, going into the final game of the year, every team was alive, could have finished in the top six and qualified for the CAA Championships. I expect the same this year.”

The Phoenix opens Colonial Athletic Association action on Rudd Field against UNCW on Thursday, Sept. 21, at 7 p.m. and James Madison on Sunday, Sept. 24 at 1 p.m.

Elon’s first conference road week begins on Thursday, Sept. 28, with the team’s final game of the month at Towson for a 3 p.m. match. The maroon and gold will then travel to College of Charleston to take on the Cougars on Sunday, Oct. 1, for a 1 p.m. matchup.

Another home weekend in conference play happens the following week as Elon welcomes William & Mary and reigning CAA Champions Northeastern to Rudd Field on Thursday, Oct. 5, at 7 p.m. and Sunday, Oct. 8, at noon, respectively.

Elon’s lone match the following week takes place at Hofstra on Sunday, Oct. 15, and will kick off at 12 p.m.

The maroon and gold wraps up the regular season with a road and home split. Elon heads to Delaware on Thursday, Oct. 19, for its final road match of the season at 7 p.m. The Phoenix wraps up the regular season on Sunday, Oct. 22, hosting Drexel at Rudd Field at 1 p.m.

The 2017 CAA Women’s Soccer Championship begins with the quarterfinal round on Sunday, Oct. 29, followed by the semifinals on Friday, Nov. 3 and the championship match on Sunday, Nov. 5.

The Phoenix brings back 19 returning letterman and nine starters from the 2016 squad. Elon also added 10 newcomers during the offseason. “Our seniors, Hanna Macaulay, Amanda Lasater, Molly Gradl, Sydney Schilling, Grace Bennett, Sue Anderson, and Kendall Ballotti have all worked very hard and endured tremendous adversity over the past few years,” Neal said. “This season is going to be a blast and I am very much looking forward to winning alongside these seniors.”


Comments are closed.