Guilford’s Ben Strong Named Jostens Trophy Finalist

2008 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

Salem, VA – The top 10 finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy were announced today by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The club is responsible for the initial review of annual nominations and narrowed the pool to 10 men and 10 women finalists.

The list found below will be forwarded to the 32-person national selection committee, which will complete the selection process by picking the two Jostens Trophy winners.

The Finalists are as follows:
Men: Jake Baldwin, Piedmont College; Jimmy Bartolotta, MIT; Greg Bienemann, Washington and Lee Univ.; Andrew Olson, Amherst College; Kent Raymond, Wheaton College; Troy Ruths, Washington Univ.-St. Louis; Ben Strong, Guilford College; Anthony Williams, SUNY-Plattsburgh; Tyler Winford, Mississippi College; Trevor Wittwer, Gustavus Adolphus.

Women: Leigh Ann Burke, DeSales University; Colleen Feeney, Bridgewater State College (Mass.); Liz Hickey, Univ. of Mary Washington; Lindsay Ippel, Millikin University; Nikki Lobach, Messiah College; Tarra Richardson, McMurry University; Megan Scheele, Edgewood College; Katie Streck, Wilmington College; Jess Vadnais, Gustavus Adolphus; Katelyn Whiton, Simpson College.

Final ballots are due no later than March 7 with the winning schools notified on March 10. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 20 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the Men’s Division III Championship being hosted in Salem, Va., on March 21-22.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men’s and women’s Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary motto of “Service above Self” by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete. This year’s class marks the 11th year the award has been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at: