Brooks, Grace, Harris and Pittman lead locals for East-West basketball

Julius Brooks(Page), Mike Grace(Mount Tabor), C.J. Harris(Mount Tabor) and Josh Pittman(Trinity) will lead the locals to the Greensboro Coliseum on July 20 for boy’s East-West All-Star basketball action………

Men’s Basketball Standouts Named for
NCCA East-West All-Star Game

Twenty of the state’s top male basketball seniors have accepted invitations to participate in the 61st NCCA East-West All-Star Game to be played in the Greensboro Coliseum on Monday, July 20, 2009. Eleven All-State selections, two of them also AP All-State selections, are expected to play.

C.J. Harris, a 6-3 guard from Winston-Salem’s Mount Tabor High, is expected to play for the West team. An AP and All-State selection and a Wake Forest signee, Harris averaged 23 points and 8 rebounds to lead Mount Tabor to the Class 4A state championship. Expected to join him are fellow All-State selections Wakefield Ellison from Asheville High and an East Carolina University signee, Eric Mayo from Shelby High and AP All-State 2nd team selection, Josh Pittman from East Lincoln High, and K.J. Sherrill from West Rowan High.

The East team will counter with 5 All-State selections of its own. Camden County High’s Ricky Krainiak, a Campbell University signee, Topsail High’s Candon Rusin, a Marist signee, Terry Sanford High’s Zach Faircloth, D.H. Conely High’s Jaron Lane, and Nash Central High’s Trey Sumler, all All-State selections, are expected to play in the all-star game. Knightdale High’s Stan Okoye, a VMI signee, is also expected to play.

Head coach David Dewey of South Johnston High will lead the East team, and head coach Howard West of Reagan High will lead the west team. The East won last year’s competition 99-93 to tie the all-time series 30-30.

2009 NCCA East-West All-Star Games

Men’s Basketball Rosters

East Team

Name Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown School
Zach Faircloth G 6-2 175 Fayetteville Terry Sanford
Michael George II P 6-5 205 Raleigh Leesville Road
Ricky Krainiak G 6-1 180 Camden Camden County
Jaron Lane W 6-5 178 Greenville DH Conley
Stan Okoye W 6-5 200 Raleigh Knightdale
Marcellous Perez G 5-10 170 Jacksonville Northside (JAX)
Candon Rusin W 6-3 185 — Topsail
Trey Sumler G 6-2 170 Rocky Mount Nash Central
Alex Tucker 6-8 205 Sanford Lee County
DaMetrius Upchurch P 6-6 210 Raleigh Garner Magnet

Head Coach: David Dewey (South Johnston HS)
Assistant Coach: Todd Edge (Douglas Byrd HS)

West Team

Name Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown School
Drew Absher G 5-10 162 Mocksville Davie County
Julius Brooks C 6-9 220 Greensboro Page
Wakefield Ellison G 6-5 – Asheville Asheville
Kyle Gaillard G 6-7 195 Huntersville North Mecklenburg
Michael Grace G 6-0 179 Winston-Salem Mount Tabor
C.J. Harris G 6-3 180 Winston-Salem Mount Tabor
Eric Mayo F 6-4 200 Shelby Shelby
Josh Pittman G 6-1 160 Archdale Trinity
Keith Rendleman F 6-7 205 Iron Station East Lincoln
K. J. Sherrill F 6-7 220 Cleveland West Rowan

Head Coach: Howard West (Reagan HS)
Assistant Coach: Greg McKenzie (East Rowan HS0