Will Newman and others at Campbell, but Pembroke has loads of locals

PEMBROKE – UNCP racked up more than 400 yards of total offense for the second-straight game, while limiting Saint Paulâ€s to just 36 yards through the air on 3-of-13 passing, to key a 37-0 blanking of the visiting Tigers Saturday evening at Grace P. Johnson Stadium.

The defense provided the first score of the second half as well when Jamaral Rease(Grimsley HS) forced SPC quarterback Alwan Lee to fumble the ball away in his own end zone, and James Alexander alertly pounced on the ball to make the score 27-0.

Jamaral Rease(Grimsley)
Fred Overby(Dudley)
Rakeem Overby(Dudley)
Josh Ples(Western Guilford)
Donald Britt(Western Alamance)
Nick Mearite(Ragsdale)
Chris Brown(Southwest Guilford)
DJ Pennington(Eastern Guilford)
Quinton Boswell(Smith)

Also out there with Will Newman QB(Page) at Campbell:
Kelvin Murphy WR(Grimsley)
Joseph Parrish DB(Grimsley)
Adam Willets K(Western Alamance)


  1. Campbell is a Division I Subdivision non-scholarship football playing university and a member of the Pioneer League…..

    Here’s the basics on the Pioneer League:
    The 2009 season marks the 17th year for the Pioneer Football League – the nationâ€s only non-scholarship NCAA Football Championship Subdivision conference that offers football as its only sport.

    The league will expand to 10 members in 2009 as Marist College begins conference play. In addition, the Pioneer Football League will participate for the third consecutive year in the Gridiron Classic, a postseason championship game which pits the PFL champion against the Northeast Conference champion.

    The PFL is one of only two conferences that sponsor football as its only sport (the Missouri Valley Football Conference being the other). However, the PFL is a truly national conference with members on each coast and throughout the nationâ€s heartland. The league still retains four of its charter members – Butler University, the University of Dayton, Drake University and Valparaiso University, plus the University of San Diego (joining in 1992) – which were joined in 2001 by Davidson College, Jacksonville University and Morehead State University. Campbell University joined the PFL in 2008, its first season of intercollegiate football.

  2. The Pioneer League plays at the D1 level but does not give athletic scholarships…then how is that different than D3? Is this the case with other sports at Campbell as well (basketball, baseball, etc.)? What defines D1 vs. D2 vs. D3?

Comments are closed.