Greensboro College hosts third annual Doug Hamilton Tournament this weekend

Doug Hamilton was a good friend of this site and he was a local radio guest back in his coaching days at Greensboro College, before he went on to lead the LA Galaxy front office. He was also a strong soccer player at UNCG.

Greensboro College will host the third annual Doug Hamilton Memorial Soccer Tournament this weekend. The event honors former Greensboro College head soccer coach Doug Hamilton, who coached at GC from 1987-90. The event is scheduled for Saturday and Sunday at Macpherson Stadium at Bryan Park.

Hamilton ranks second on The Pride’s all-time wins list, compiling a record of 59-22-4 (.734). His 1989 team won the Dixie Conference championship and was the NCAA national runner-up. Hamilton, who had later had a stellar career as an MLS executive, was posthumously inducted into the GC Athletics Hall of Fame in 2006

Admission is free. This year’s tournament schedule is as follows

–Sat., Sept. 12 N.C. Wesleyan College vs. York College, 12:00 p.m.
Greensboro College vs. Cape Fear CC, 2:30 p.m.

–Sun., Sept. 13: N.C. Wesleyan College vs. Cape Fear CC, 12:00 p.m.
Greensboro College vs. York College, 2:30 p.m.

Live stats for Sunday’s games only at:

Donations are accepted to benefit the Aedan Hamilton. Aedan is the young son of Paige and Doug Hamilton. Additionally, support directly to the fund can be made payable to: Aedan Hamilton Fund, The Home Depot Center Foundation, 18400 Avalon Blvd., Carson, Calif. 90746.

The Pride is 13-0-1 all time at Macpherson Stadium.

2008 Recap: NC Wesleyan won the tournament. Both The Pride and the Bishops went 2-0, but NCWC won on a better goal differential (+7 to +5). Benjamin Schmedes of NCWC was selected MVP. Results: Greensboro 3, Heidleberg 0; NC Wesleyan 2, Marynount 0; Greensboro 3, Marymount 1; NCWC 5, Heidleberg 0;

2007 Recap: GC–then ranked second in the nation–captured the inaugural tournament. Pride goalkeeper Kurt Gardiner was named tourney MVP. Results: Methodist 3, Oglethorpe 0; Greensboro 10, Lassell 0; Methodist 6, Lassell 1; Greensboro 6, Oglethorpe 1.