Kay Yow(Gibsonville HS) to be honored along with Mike Krzyzewski and Dean Smith at Naismith Awards ceremony in Raleigh

from N.C. State’s gopack.com site……..

Legendary coaches Mike Krzyzewski, Dean Smith and the late Kay Yow will be honored with the distinguished Dr. James A. Naismith Good Sportsmanship Award in a once-in-a-lifetime event on Wednesday, June 29, at Raleigh Memorial Auditorium.

(Fans from Duke, North Carolina and N.C. State will come together for a fun and friendly night when these coaches are honored…..)

Presented by the N.C. Sports Hall of Fame and the Naismith International Basketball Foundation, the event gets under way at 6:30 p.m. with a lavish reception and a silent auction of sports memorabilia. The awards show begins at 8 p.m.

A native of Gibsonville, N.C., Yow led the U.S. women’s basketball team to a gold medal in 1988, directed her Wolfpack club to the 1998 Final Four and in 2002, became just the fifth female coach inducted into the James Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

Her NC State record of 680-325 left her as one of only three women’s coaches at the Division I level to coach 1,000 games at one institution. On Dec. 14, 2008, in a victory over Ole Miss, Coach Yow took her place alongside legendary Tennessee coach Pat Summitt and former Texas coach Jody Condradt.

Yow’s all-time collegiate record of 737-344 spanned 38 seasons – 34 at NC State (1975-2009) and four with Elon College.

CLICK HERE to read all on Coach Kay Yow……