ODAC Men’s and Women’s XC Championships

BEDFORD, Va. (10/29/11) — Lynchburg claimed its third straight ODAC Cross Country Championship by one point over Guilford College in the men’s race on Saturday in Bedford, Va. The Hornets won the men’s 8K race in which four runners earned All-ODAC honors. Roanoke’s Tim Smith earned his first individual men’s title, earning him the ODAC Men’s Runner of the Year award. Smith also earned the Men’s Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Bridgewater took the women’s 6K title behind Oliva Mills’ first place finish, which earned her the ODAC Women’s Runner of the Year title after earning her first individual crown.

The top 14 finishers for both the men and women earn All-ODAC honors. The first seven receive All-ODAC First Team accolades while the second seven garner All-ODAC Second Team awards.

Lynchburg men’s squad finished with 59 points. Guilford College placed second with 60 points, followed by Bridgewater College (69), Virginia Wesleyan College (83), Roanoke College (115), Washington & Lee (125), Eastern Mennonite University (208), Hampden-Sydney College (238), Emory & Henry College (256) and Randolph College (292). Aside from Smith’s winning time (25:29.10), (28:03.65, 5th), (28:08.33, 7th), (28:13.53, 9th), and (28:24.73, 11th) all placed in the Top 20 for the Hornets. The Quakers were paced by Chad Norton’s fourth-place finish with a time of 26:12.40. Guilford also had its top five runner in the top 20 with Derick Kosgei(26:21.80, 5th), David Cason (27:09.80, 15th), Dylan Skinner (27:11.40, 16th) and Tim Anne (27:17.30, 20th) also scoring for the Quakers.

Other notable individual finishers include Virginia Wesleyan’s Sean Whitson (25:36.30, 2nd), Nick Lauter (26:23.10, 6th) and Darren Driscoll (26:59.00, 13th), Lynchburg’s Cody Stanton (26:29.50, 7th), Billy Orndorff (26:41.20, 8th) and Anthony McBride (26:57.30, 11th), Eastern Mennonites’s Dan Nafziger (26:41.30, 9th) and Bridgewater’s Tim Miller (26:54.00, 10th) and Ryan Speray (26:57.60, 12th).

On the women’s side, Bridgewater placed first with 37 points. Washington and Lee finished second with 56 points, followed by Virginia Wesleyan (71), Lynchburg (104), Roanoke (116), Eastern Mennonite (152), Guilford (183) and Randolph (225). Bridgewater women recorded four Top-10 finishers, including two first team honors. With her winning time (22:00.60), Mills earned her first ODAC title by over a minute in the 80-runner field. Teammates Molly Smith (23:23.30, 3rd) also earned first team All-ODAC honors while Stephane Breen (24:00.90, 8th) and Whitney Fitzgerald (24:02.60, 9th) earned second team All-ODAC accolades.

Other noteworthy women’s times include Washington and Lee’s Lauren Schultz (23:06.50, 2nd), Annelise Madison (23:40.00, 5th), Brandie Huffman (24:10.70, 11th), Molly Ortiz (24:40.20, 15th), Roanoke’s Grace England (23.31.80, 4th), Virginia Wesleyan’s Kelly Fauth (23:45.20, 6th), Emma Helsel (23:51.10, 7th) and Shelby Bryceland (24:06.20, 10th), Lynchburg’s Krystal Foster (24:16.80, 12th) and Eastern Mennonite’s Katie Eckman (23:32.70, 15th). Anne Mogavero (24:21.20) turned in Guilford’s top women’s time finishing in 13th place, which earned her second team All-ODAC honors.

Lynchburg’s Doug Thomasey and Bridgewater’s Brian Flynn were tabbed as the Coaches of the Year for the men’s and women’s teams respectively.

Roanoke split the Rookie of the Year awards with Bridgewater. The Maroon’s Grace England earned the honor on the women’s side while the Eagles Luke Sohl took the men’s honor. The two schools also split the Runner of the Year Awards. Lauren Shultz of Washington and Lee took home the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete Awards on the women’s side.

Women - All-ODAC First Team       Men - All-ODAC First Team
1. Olivia Mills - BC              1. Tim Smith - RC
2. Lauren Schultz - W&L           2. Sean Whitson - VWC
3. Molly Smith - BC               3. Luke Sohl - BC
4. Grace England - RC             4. Chad Norton - GC
5. Annelise Madison - W&L         5. Derick Kosgei - GC 
6. Kelly Fauth - VWC              6. Nick Lauter - VWC
7. Emma Helsel - VWC              7. Cody Stanton - LC

Women - All-ODAC Second Team      Men - All-ODAC Second Team
8. Stephanie Breen - BC           8. Billy Orndorff - LC
9. Whitney Fitzgerald - BC        9. Dan Nafziger - EMU
10. Shelby Bryceland - VWC        10. Tim Miller - BC
11. Brandie Huffman - W&L         11. Anthony McBride - LC
12. Krystal Foster - LC           12. Ryan Sperary - BC
13. Anne Mogavero - GC            13. Darren Driscoll - VWC
14. Katie Eckman - EMU            14. Daniel Cutright - LC
Runner of the Year                Runner of the Year
Olivia Mills, Bridgewater         Tim Smith, Roanoke

Freshman of the Year              Freshman of the Year
Grace England, Roanoke            Luke Sohl, Bridgewater

Coach of the Year                 Coach of the Year
Brian Flynn, Bridgewater          Doug Thomasey, Lynchburg

ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete  ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete 
Lauren Shultz, Washington & Lee   Tim Smith, Roanoke

1 comment

  1. Great job Quakers and Coaches Cason & Cash!
    It will not be long before Guilford wins one of these!

Comments are closed.