Sheetz Holiday Christmas Basketball Classic – Boys Championship Bracket

Championship Game of the Sheetz Holiday Christmas Basketball Classic

The Cowboys of Southwest Guilford squared off against the Cougars of High Point Christian Academy in the championship game of the Sheetz Holiday Classic. Once again the Cowboys faced off against an undefeated team for the 4th time this season. The newly opened Jim Coggins Gymnasium was near full capacity to see this title matchup and they certainly saw a hard fought bout. The first three quarters were a back and forth battle where each team traded runs and droughts. Just before the halftime buzzer the Cowboys got a layup to take a slim 34-32 lead. The second half started with the Cowboys using some of that momentum to push the lead to 7 at 39-32, but just like the first half the Cougars responded with strong play to take a 45-44 lead with 1:30 left in the quarter. After one more basket apiece, Southwest’s Jordan Hanner hit one of his 8 three’s to take a 49-47 lead at the end of the third frame. The decisive quarter was a dog fight that began with a quick 5-0 run by the Cougars that gave them a 52-49 lead. The Cowboys kept getting it back to a 1 point game but after each SW score, the Cougars responded with thier own. At the 4:45 mark a three pointer by the Cougars broke the back of the hosts to push it out to 63-57. The rest of the way was from the charity stripe as the Cougars hit them and pulled the final tally to 85-72. Southwest was lead by Jordan Hanner’s 32 points. High Point Christian Academy was lead by Jackson Kent’s 24, Michael Obacha’s 19, and Diante Baldwin’s 15 points respectively.

High Point Christian Academy – 85
Southwest Guilford – 72

   HPCA   11   21   15   38
   SWG    15   19   15   23

HPCA (13-0): Diante Baldwin 17, 5 assists, Jackson Kent 24, Isiah Gill 2, Chuck Ogbodo 6, Michael Obacha 19, 14 rebounds, Stevie Williams 4, Rick Mack 10, Joey McLean 3.

SWG: Raymond Bridges 6, Herbert Bridges 6, Jordan Hanner 32, Saxton Cotton 7, KJ Langley 5, Anton Morgan 6, Braxton Daye 4, Brandon Clyburn 6.

Michael Obacha was named Tournament MVP.

Chuck Ogbodo and Jackson Kent were named to the All-Tournament Team.

HPCA will play at Caldwell on Tuesday.