Isenbarger, Hamilton Recognized by Southern Conference Coaches

ELON, N.C. – Sophomore Jack Isenbarger was selected first-team All-Southern Conference as voted on by the league’s 12 coaches, the conference announced on Tuesday afternoon. Rookie point guard Austin Hamilton was also honored as a member of the SoCon All-Freshman team.

Isenbarger really came on strong during conference play, averaging 17.3 points against league opponents and scoring in double figures in 12 of the last 13 contests. The guard out of Zionsville, Ind., shot 44.7 percent from the field and a team-best 85.3 percent from the free throw line. Isenbarger drained 70 three-pointers, a mark that is tied for fourth in Elon single-season history. The sharpshooter is currently tied for seventh in school history with 130 career triples in just two seasons. Isenbarger turned into a point guard mid-season after Hamilton suffered an illness and earned league player of the week accolades after leading the Phoenix to three wins in a five-day span. Isenbarger’s career night came against The Citadel when he connected on 11-of-16 field goals for 34 points while also grabbing four rebounds and dishing out five assists.

Despite being sidelined for nearly seven games in February due to illness, Hamilton had a strong rookie campaign for the Phoenix. He scored in double figures 13 times, registering a career-high 20 points on 4-of-8 from downtown against Chattanooga. A native of Herndon, Va., Hamilton tallied a personal-best six assists in Elon’s win at The Citadel. The guard averaged 9.8 points and 3.0 assists in his first season.

Davidson head coach Bob McKillop was selected as the league’s coach of the year and the Wildcats’ sophomore forward De’Mon Brooks was honored as the SoCon Player of the Year. Wofford’s Brad Loesing was named the defensive player of the year and teammate Karl Cochran was voted the conference freshman of the year.

Elon is the number two seed in the North Division in the upcoming SoCon Tournament. Following a first-round bye, the Phoenix will face off against the winner of (3S) Georgia Southern and (6N) Chattanooga on Saturday evening at 8:30 p.m. in the U.S. Cellular Center in Asheville, N.C.

2012 SoCon Men’s Basketball Awards

All-Conference Team
Trent Wiedeman, College of Charleston
Antwaine Wiggins, College of Charleston
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
De’Mon Brooks, Davidson
Jake Cohen, Davidson
Jack Isenbarger, Elon
Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern
Trevis Simpson, UNCG
Kevin Giltner, Wofford
Brad Loesing, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Adjehi Baru, College of Charleston
Austin Hamilton, Elon
Tyler Hood, Samford
Raijon Kelly, Samford
Karl Cochran, Wofford

Player of the Year
De’Mon Brooks, So., F, Davidson

Defensive Player of the Year
Brad Loesing, Sr., G, Wofford

Freshman of the Year
Karl Cochran, G, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Bob McKillop, Davidson