Bill White Scholarship winners from GCB:Ahrens, Carstens, Davis, Gunn, Holleman, Hunt, McCann Brothers, Parr, Youngblood and more

*****Greensboro Colt Baseball honors these fine young men for their on and off the field accomplishments.*****


The William J. White Scholarship Fund was established in 1980 following the death of Bill White. Bill was responsible for starting Colt Baseball (15 & 16 year olds) in 1965. The Guilford County Sports Hall of fame inducted Bill in 2010 for his various contributions to our area youth. The fund awards scholarships to former Colt Leaguers who are entering a college or university. The criteria include academic excellence, exemplary citizenship, and financial need. Bobby Dawson was the first recipient in 1981, and since then about 180 scholarships have been awarded exceeding $ 135,000, including the ones below. The 2012 recipients of the Bill White Scholarships are as follows:

Student- High School- College/University Attending

Ahrens, Brandon Western NC State
Brown, Jared Smith NC Central
Carstens, Mitchell Ragsdale UNC-Asheville
Davis, Jaylin Northeast App State
Gunn, Adam Eastern NC State
Holleman, Hayden Eastern East Carolina
Hunt, Tyler Eastern Guilford College
McCann, Caleb Northeast App State
McCann, Jacob Northeast App State
Mespelt, William Southwest NC State
Olczak, Jonathon Wesleyan NC State
Parr, Tyler Western UNC-Charlotte
Youngblood, Frank Ragsdale NC State

The scholarships will be presented between opening night games (about 7:30 PM) of the Colt East Zone Tournament held at Memorial Stadium on Wednesday night, July 25th.

Tax deductible donations to the William J. White Scholarship Fund may be sent to:
Ned McMillan 4285-1C Cedarcroft Court Greensboro, N.C. 27409 (336) 299-1371 (home)