Davis Womble(Wesleyan) named Second-Team Rolex AJGA Junior All-American

Womble named second-team Rolex Junior All-American(High Point native to be honored by Rolex, AJGA as one of junior golf’s best)

BRASELTON, Ga. – Davis Womble of High Point, N.C./Wesleyan Christian Academy, has been named a second-team Rolex Junior All-American by the American Junior Golf Association, establishing himself among the top tier of current and former junior golfers from around the world.

In his final junior golf season, Womble, 18, recorded two victories en route to Rolex Junior All-America accolades. A final-round 69 led to a two-shot victory at the Scott Robertson Memorial, and he closed his career with his first AJGA win in his last event, the CorseMax / Philadelphia Runner Junior. A 2012 graduate of Wesleyan Christian Academy, Womble is currently a freshman at Wake Forest.

Introduced by the AJGA in 1978, the Rolex Junior All-America Teams annually recognize players who have proven to be the world’s premier junior golfers. This year’s selections distinguished themselves through their outstanding play in 88 national events, 72 of which were conducted by the AJGA. The Rolex Junior All-America Teams were determined exclusively through the Polo Golf Rankings as of Oct. 9.

The teams are comprised of 96 junior golfers, ages 13-19, from 22 states, Puerto Rico and nine foreign countries (China, Colombia, France, India, Japan, Mexico, South Korea, Sweden and Thailand). These standouts will be honored at the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet, Nov. 18, at PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Former Rolex Junior All-Americans comprise the top players on the PGA and LPGA Tours. All 12 players on the 2012 U.S. Ryder Cup Team played AJGA tournaments, and eight players earned Rolex Junior All-America recognition during their junior careers: Keegan Bradley, Jim Furyk, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Brandt Snedeker, Webb Simpson, Bubba Watson and Tiger Woods.

On the 2011 U.S. Solheim Cup Team, nine of the 12 players competed in AJGA tournaments as teenagers, and seven were named Rolex Junior All-Americans during their careers: Paula Creamer, Vicky Hurst, Cristie Kerr, Christina Kim, Brittany Lang, Brittany Lincicome, and Morgan Pressel.

Other notable AJGA alumni who help make up the list of past Rolex Junior All-Americans include Rickie Fowler, Trevor Immelman, Hunter Mahan, Bo Van Pelt, Belen Mozo, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.

For more information, please contact Chris Richards (crichards@ajga.org) in the AJGA Communications Department at (678) 425-1789, or visit ajga.org.

About Rolex

Rolex, a supporter of the AJGA since its formative years, became an AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. The distinguished timepiece maker is the proprietor of the Rolex Junior Players of the Year, Rolex Junior All-America Teams and the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet. Rolex also sponsors the Rolex Tournament of Champions and Rolex Girls Junior Championship, two of the AJGA’s most competitive major championships. As a Premier Partner, Rolex is the Founding Partner to the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program and an Official Partner of the biennial PING Junior Solheim Cup.

About the American Junior Golf Association

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,500 junior golfers from 49 states and more than 40 countries. To ensure scholarship opportunities for all junior golfers who have the skill, the AJGA created the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program to provide financial assistance to young players in need.

Titleist, the AJGA’s National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association’s success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA’s second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 500 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Stewart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Inbee Park and Morgan Pressel.

2012 Rolex Junior All-America Teams

First Team – Boys

Cameron Champ, Sacramento, Calif.

Brad Dalke, McKinney, Texas

Doug Ghim, Arlington Heights, Ill.

Beau Hossler, Mission Viejo, Calif.

Tae Wan Lee, (South Korea) Orlando, Fla.

Thomas Lim, Moorpark, Calif.

Jim Liu, Smithtown, N.Y.

Lee McCoy, Clarkesville, Ga.

Matthew NeSmith, North Augusta, S.C.

Andy Shim, (South Korea) Duluth, Ga.

Adam Wood, Zionsville, Ind.

James Yoon, Bradenton, Fla.

Second Team – Boys

Connor Black, Houston, Texas

Derek Castillo, Yorba Linda, Calif.

Branson Davis, McKinney, Texas

Zecheng Dou, Beijing, China

Max Greyserman, Short Hills, N.J.

Jacob Joiner, Albany, Ga.

Peter Kim, Metuchen, N.J.

Jack Maguire, St. Petersburg, Fla.

Joshua Martin, Pinehurst, N.C.

Brandon Pierce, Covington, La.

Scott Scheffler, Dallas, Texas

Davis Womble, High Point, N.C.

Honorable Mention – Boys

Philip Barbaree, Shreveport, La.

Sam Burns, Shreveport, La.

James Clark, III, Columbus, Ga.

Sean Crocker, Westlake Village, Calif.

Daniel De La Garza, (Mexico) Austin, Texas

Parker Derby, Columbus, Ga.

Noah Edmondson, Davidson, N.C.

Rigel Fernandes, (India) Bradenton, Fla.

Nicolo Galletti, Pleasanton, Calif.

Matt Gilchrest, Southlake, Texas

Franklin Huang, Poway, Calif.

Brendon Jelley, Tulsa, Okla.

Joo-Young Lee, Hilliard, Ohio

Clayton Madey, West Linn, Ore.

Cole Madey, West Linn, Ore.

Luis Medina, Zapopan, Mexico

Chad Merzbacher, Dublin, Ohio

Fred Allen Meyer, Nicholasville, Ky.

Michael Pisciotta, Alpharetta, Ga.

Davis Riley, Hattiesburg, Miss.

Jacob Solomon, Dublin, Calif.

Jimmy Stanger, Tampa, Fla.

Danny Walker, Bradenton, Fla.

Hayden Wood, Edmond, Okla.

First Team – Girls

Shannon Aubert, (France) Reunion, Fla.

Karen Chung, Livingston, N.J.

Casey Danielson, Osceola, Wis.

Ariya Jutanugarn, Bangkok, Thailand

Alison Lee, Valencia, Calif.

Andrea Lee, Hermosa Beach, Calif.

Esther Lee, Los Alamitos, Calif.

Nicole Morales, South Salem, N.Y.

Ashlan Ramsey, Milledgeville, Ga.

Sierra Sims, Austin, Texas

Samantha Wagner, Windermere, Fla.

Lindsey Weaver, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Second Team – Girls

Karen Arimoto, (Japan) Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

Erin Choi, Torrance, Calif.

Simin Feng, (China) Orlando, Fla.

Cheyenne Knight, The Woodlands, Texas

Amy Lee, Brea, Calif.

Mika Liu, Beverly Hills, Calif.

Marijosse Navarro, (Mexico) San Antonio, Texas

Annie Park, Levittown, N.Y.

Summar Roachell, Conway, Ark.

Maria Torres, San Juan, P.R.

Jessica Vasilic, (Sweden) Anaheim Hills, Calif.

Bethany Wu, Diamond Bar, Calif.

Honorable Mention – Girls

Elisabeth Bernabe, Anaheim Hills, Calif.

Sierra Brooks, Sorrento, Fla.

Sarah Cho, San Diego, Calif.

Hee Wook Choi, (South Korea) San Diego, Calif.

Allisen Corpuz, Honolulu, Hawaii

Rachel Dai, Milton, Ga.

Dree Fausnaugh, Maitland, Fla.

Anne Freman, Las Vegas, Nev.

Cindy Ha, Demarest, N.J.

Alexandra Harkins, Crystal Lake, Ill.

Alexandra Kaui, Las Vegas, Nev.

Danielle Lee, La Mirada, Calif.

Paige Lee, Folsom, Calif.

Christine Lin, Austin, Texas

Yu Liu, (China) Aventura, Fla.

Brooke McDougald, The Woodlands, Texas

Anna Newell, Tampa, Fla.

Hannah O’Sullivan, Phoenix, Ariz.

Jessica Porvasnik, Hinckley, Ohio

Sophia Schubert, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Laura Sojo, (Colombia) Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

Lauren Stephenson, Lexington, S.C.

Kuriko Tsukiyama, West New York, N.J.

Angel Yin, Arcadia, Calif.