Super 32 Wrestling Tournament This Weekend In Greensboro

The Greensboro Sports Commission and the Greensboro Area Convention and Visitors Bureau are pleased to welcome the Super 32 Wrestling Tournament back to the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center on Saturday, October 20th and Sunday, October 21st . The Super 32 features some of the nation’s top high school and middle school wrestlers representing 43 states.

What began as a small wrestling tournament with only 2 mats at Morehead High School in Eden, North Carolina in 1999 has grown to one of the nation’s largest wrestling tournaments with 27 mats and 1,900 wrestlers at the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center. The tournament has grown since moving to the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center in 2005. For the third consecutive year, the Super 32 has sold out with a record 1,900 wrestlers participating. This year’s event includes 182 State Champions from across the country and 608 wrestlers who placed in their state tournaments.

The Super 32 will begin at 8:00 am on Saturday, October 20th and Sunday, October 21st with the high school tournament on both days and the middle school event on Sunday, October 21st only. Admission is $20 for a 2 day pass or $15 for Saturday and $10 for Sunday. Tickets are available at the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center. The tournament schedule is available online at

Super 32 By The Numbers:

  • Total Wrestlers: 1,900 (sold out)
  • Mats Utilized: 27 mats
  • States Represented: 43
  • Top 20 Nationally Ranked Participants: 101
  • College Coaches Attending: Over 60 programs represented

Quotes from College Coaches:
CD Mock, Head Coach, University of North Carolina: “The Super 32 has become the premier high school wrestling event in the country with wrestlers from across the nation competing in Greensboro, NC. Every year, the best wrestlers throughout the country gather in Greensboro for the two day event to compete for the highly sought after “belt”, crowning them champions at their weight class. College coaches from across the nation come to watch and scout prospective college athletes. It’s an honor to have this event in our state.”

John Hughes, Associate Head Coach, Lehigh University: “The Super 32 Wrestling Tournament provides a platform for kids from multiple states to compete against each other. This format allows college coaches an avenue to see recruits go head to head while assessing their skill sets. This early season
competition will ultimately address an athletes strengths & weaknesses, thus allowing them to make the necessary adjustments for future successes. Furthermore, essential academic & athletic profiles are compiled which further determines the best student-athlete for each collegiate institution.”

2011 Super 32 Participant Rankings: The final 2011-12 InterMat rankings featured 67 wrestlers that competed in the 2011 Super 32 Challenge. This includes five wrestlers that ended the season ranked first in the nation – Super 32 Challenge champions Jared Brooks, Ben Whitford, Chance Marsteller, and Taylor Massa; along with George DiCamillo, who finished as runner-up in the tournament. Also of note is that over 200 participants from the 2011 Super 32 won a state title, New England Regional title, or National Prep championship at season’s end.

Super 32 Partcipants in the NCAA Wrestling Championships: At the 2012 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, four of the ten champions were wrestlers that had competed in the Super 32 Challenge during their high school career: Kyle Dake (Cornell), David Taylor (Penn State), Ed Ruth (Penn State), and Cam Simaz (Cornell). In addition, 22 of the 80 All-American wrestlers were former Super 32 competitors, including NCAA finalists Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) and Chris Honeycutt (Edinboro). Additional 2012 All-Americans that had competed at the Super 32 include Frank Perelli (Cornell), Tony Ramos (Iowa), Devin Carter (Virginia Tech), Tyler Nauman (Pittsburgh), Dylan Alton (Penn State), James Green (Nebraska), Walter Peppelman (Harvard), Jordan Blanton (Illinois), Austin Trotman (Appalachian State), and Nick Gwiazdowski (Binghamton, now N.C. State).