Dynamo Players Earn All-Conference Honors

Greensboro, NC: Today the 2012 PDL Finalists, Carolina Dynamo announced 15 former Dynamo players earned All-Conference honors for their regular season performances this past fall. Sebastian Ibeagha (Duke) who was named to the All-PDL team this past season leads the way, by being named as the ACC Defender of the Year.

Atlantic Coast Conference:
Three players who helped anchor the Dynamos stellar defense this past season earned Atlantic Coast Conference Honors. Sebastian Ibeagha (Duke) was named ACC Defender of the Year. Joining Ibeagha on the ACC’s 1st team is fellow Dynamo defender Boyd Okwuonu (UNC CH). GK Scott Goodwin (UNC CH) earned 2nd Team All-ACC honors after setting a school career shutout record at Chapel Hill. Greensboro native Jonathan Campbell (UNC CH) was named to the All-ACC Freshman Team.

Atlantic 10:
Senior Midfielder Donnie Smith (Charlotte) was named to the Atlantic 10 1st Team All-Conference, and earned the Conferences Midfielder of the Year award while leading the 49ers to the #1 overall seed in the Conference Tournament.

Big South:
Four players from the 2012 Carolina Dynamo PDL Finalists team represent High Point on the Big South All-Conference Teams. Leading the way on the 1st Team is Senior Midfielder Shawn Sloan who was also named Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Joining Sloan on the 1st Team is defender Fejiro Okiomah & Greensboro native Mamadee Nyepon (Forward). Senior defender Shane Malcolm was named to the Big South 2nd Team All-Conference.

Conference Carolina:
Sophomore Midfielder Tom McCready (Limestone) earned 1st Team Conference Carolinas honors while leading his squad to the Conference Championship and a NCAA DII Tournament Berth.

Conference USA:
Senior Captain Kevin Stam (South Carolina) was named to the Conference USA All-Academic Team. Stam started every match for the Gamecocks and is a social work major.

Peach Belt Conference:
Sophomore Defender Clement Simonin (Lander) was named to the Peach Belt Conference 1st Team while leading his squad to the #1 Seed in the Southeast Regional NCAA DII Tournament.

Southern Conference:
Senior Forward and the Nation’s leading scorer Chris Thomas (Elon) was name SoCon Player of the Year and 1st Team All-Conference. Joining Thomas on the 1st team is Senior Forward, Hakan Ilhan (UNC Greensboro). Senior GK, Peyton Ford (UNC Greensboro) was named 2nd All-Southern Conference Team.

Capital One 2012 Academic All-District Team (District 3)
Two seniors from the 2012 PDL Finalists, Carolina Dynamo were also named to the Academic All-District team for their performance both in the classroom and on the field. Senior GK, Scott Goodwin (UNC CH) carries a 3.95 GPA with Biology major. Meanwhile Senior MF, Shawn Sloan (High Point) has a 4.00 GPA as Chemistry major.