Elon Volleyball’s Gravley & Nicksic Earn SoCon All-Conference Honors

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Elon volleyball freshmen Megan Gravley and Ana Nicksic were both named to the Southern Conference All-Freshman Volleyball Team, as the conference announced its 2012 all-conference and individual award winners today, Nov. 14. Gravley and Nicksic were two of seven freshmen voted to the all-freshman team by the league’s head coaches.

Gravley leads the team in kills (342) and kills per set (3.05), ranking ninth in the conference. The Apex, N.C., native recorded a career-high 24 kills at Radford on Sept. 4 and a career-high 13 digs at Western Carolina on Sept. 28. Gravley was named to the Colonial Challenge All-Tournament Team earlier in the season and has posted four double-doubles in her rookie year.

Nicksic has recorded 1,052 assists in her first year, which ranks fifth on Elon’s DI individual season record’s list and eighth on the all-time individual season list. The Valparaiso, Ind., native is averaging 9.64 assists per set and ranks seventh in the conference. Nicksic posted a new career high of 55 assists in Elon’s match at UNCG last week and recorded a career-high 12 digs at Georgia Southern on Oct. 14. She has tallied four double-doubles this season.

The SoCon Volleyball Championship begins Saturday, Nov. 17, at Belk Arena on the campus of Davidson University in Davidson, N.C. Elon is the No. 2 North seed and will face the No. 3 South seed Furman on Saturday at 10 a.m.

2012 Southern Conference All-Conference Teams
All-Conference First Team
Darcy Dorton – OH – College of Charleston
Chandler Ambrester – OH – Furman
Natalie Braun – OH – Furman
Meredith Paskert – OH – Georgia Southern
Kate Van Dyke – S – Georgia Southern
Lauren Hutchinson – MB – Samford
Michaela Ressor – OH – Samford

All-Conference Second Team
Sloane White – MB/RS – College of Charleston
Caroline Brown – OH – Davidson
Caroline Adams – MB – Furman
Moriah Bellissimo – OH – Georgia Southern
Karrian Chambers – H/B – UNCG
Katie Murphy – MB – Samford
Paula Passmore – L – Chattanooga

All-Freshman Team
Melissa Morello – OH – College of Charleston
Megan Gravley – OH – Elon
Ana Nicksic – S – Elon
Jo Wilks – S – Elon
Alex Beecher – L/DS – Georgia Southern
Crysten Curry – MB – Georgia Southern
Briana Reid – OH – Chattanooga

Player of the Year
Kate Van Dyke – S – Georgia Southern

Libero of the Year
Paula Passmore – Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year
Jo Wilks – S – Furman

Coach of the Year
Chad Callihan – Georgia Southern