Former Bishop McGuinness standout Aaron Toomey named D3 All-American

Former Bishop McGuinness standout Aaron Toomey (2010) has been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division 3 All-America Team as well as NABC Northeast District Player of the Year.

In 2009 Toomey guided the Villains to a 31-2 record, capturing the NCHSAA 1A State Championship. Toomey was named to the Associated Press All-State Team as a junior in 2009, and again in 2010 when he was also runner-up for North Carolina State Player of the Year Honors to Reggie Bullock who is now at UNC.

After graduating from Bishop, Toomey went on to Amherst College in Amherst, Mass. where he contributed immediately to one of the top programs in Division 3 basketball. Earning Freshman of the Year Award in the NESCAC in 2011, Toomey has since become one the program’s 1000 point scorers, earning several Player of the Year recognitions as a junior in 2013 (NESCAC POY, POY, NABC NE District POY), with his most recent honor of being named NABC First Team All-America.

Toomey ranks among the conference’s (NESCAC) top five in scoring (17.6 ppg), three-pointers (3.0 per game) and assists (5.1) while boasting the nation’s fourth-best free throw percentage at 90.4. Toomey has been at his best in the NCAA Tournament with consecutive 25-point efforts in Amherst’s second- and third-round wins to go with 9-of-18 combined shooting from long range and averages of 6.5 rebounds and 6.0 assists.

The full list of the All American team can be seen here- NCAA D3 All Americans

Amherst enters the NCAA Division 3 ‘Elite 8’ on Friday March 22 in Salem Virginia. Amherst is making its eighth trip to the Elite 8 and it’s first since falling to Williams in the 2011 national quarterfinal, 77-71. Prior to their setback to the Ephs, the Jeffs had advanced to three consecutive Final Fours from 2006-08 and are 4-3 all-time in the quarterfinals. In its eight previous games in Salem, Va., Amherst is 3-5, winning the national championship in 2007 and finishing as the runner-up in 2008.

Josh Thompson
Bishop McGuinness Basketball
State Champions 1963, 1982, 1983, 1987, 2009