NCHSAA Homer Thompson Eight Who Make A Difference Awards

Coaches Earn Homer Thompson Sportsmanship Awards From NCHSAA

CHAPEL HILL– Eight “coaches who make a difference” by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanship will be honored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting.

The coaches have been selected for the Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make a Difference award. The award is named in honor of the late Homer Thompson, the long-time Winston-Salem Parkland coach and member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame. Each honoree will receive the award at the Smith Center on May 2.

“Homer Thompson’s name is affixed to this award because he certainly did make a difference in the lives of many and truly was an outstanding role model,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield.

The winners were chosen by a special committee based on nominations from the member schools. They will receive a plaque as part of the Association’s student services program.

Coaches receiving this honor for 2012-13 include the following:
Region 1: Mickey Drew, head baseball coach, Camden High School
Region 2: Michael McKeel, head baseball and assistant football coach, West Craven High School
Region 3: Jason Tudryn, head football coach, Carrboro High School
Region 4: John Sylvester, junior varsity basketball coach, Cape Fear High School, Fayetteville
Region 5: Darlene Joyner, head women’s basketball coach, Northwest Guilford High School
Region 6: Al Andrew, head men’s basketball and golf coach, Albemarle High School
Region 7: David Craft, head baseball coach, Hickory High School
Region 8: Heather Claussen, head volleyball and women’s golf coach, Polk County High School

Each school had the opportunity to nominate one of its coaches for this award. “These coaches are excellent role models who provide support and encouragement to our young people,” says Whitfield.

The North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company underwrites the recognition for high school coaches.

NCHSAA FastFacts
Award: Eight Who Make A Difference
Presented at: NCHSAA Annual Meeting
Presented to: coaches nominated by their respective schools for exemplary sportsmanship
Named for: the late Homer Thompson, long-time coach at Winston-Salem Parkland and member of NCHSAA Hall of Fame
Sponsored by: North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance
Of Interest: The first awards presented in this series were in 1993.