NCHSAA Heart of a Champion Award

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored

CHAPEL HILL—A total of 22 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools have been honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2012-13 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students were honored at a luncheon on Saturday at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

“We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. “With recognitions such as these, we are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach.”

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2012-13 Honorees

Student Athlete             School               Nominator
Timothy Bell                Jesse Carson         Todd Bell
Zachary Broadaway           West Stanly          Wendy Tucker
Jessica Bunce               David Butler         Janet Prevatte
Seth Carter                 Clyde A. Erwin       David Ball
Jennifer Dagenhart          West Iredell         Mark Weycker
Erica Driver                Corinth Holders      Don Andrews/Chase Ferrell
Devan Fincher               West Stanly          Wendy Tucker
Megan Gilligan              North Wilkes         Michael Greene
Clara Hilton                Woods Charter        Elizabeth Crumb
Patrick Hunter              North Iredell        Nick Tomlin
Haley Jackson               West Rowan           Todd Bell
Zach Jarrett                Hickory              Tom Harper
Katie Mathewson             Hickory              Tom Harper
Carlos Medina               David Butler         Janet Prevatte
Michelle Murphy             Northwest Guilford   Jennifer Knoll
Kyle Perschy                Woods Charter        Graeme Stewart
Lawson Ray                  Terry Sanford        William Yeager
Brooke Redmond              North Iredell        Nick Tomlin
Natalie Rhew                Clyde A. Erwin       David Ball
Lindsey Triplett            North Wilkes         Michael Greene
Thinh Truong                Hickory              Tom Harper
Ze Yang                     West Iredell         Mark Weycker