HPU’s Jordan named Big South Women’s Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year

The High Point University women’s lacrosse team had six players named to the All-Big South teams, including Defensive Player of the Year Jasmine Jordan, at the conference’s inaugural women’s lacrosse awards banquet on Thursday in Davidson, N.C. Jordan was one of four Panthers named to the All-Conference first team.

Jordan, junior attacker Mackenzie Carroll and junior midfielders Sara Kuhlman and Alec Perry were named to the All-Big South first team. Senior attacker Grace Gaeng and junior midfielder Christie Dougherty were named to the All-Big South second team. Jordan was also named to the All-Academic team.

Jordan leads High Point with 45 ground balls and 28 caused turnovers while ranking third on the team with 34 draw controls this season. She has also scored three goals in transition. It was her third All-Conference honor after being named to the All-National Lacrosse Conference second team as a freshman and to the first team last year.

Carroll leads High Point in points (50) and assists (21) while ranking second in goals (29). She was 2012 NLC Player of the Year. Perry is High Point’s scoring leader with 33 goals and she has scored at least once every year. In the midfield, she has grabbed 22 draw controls and 21 ground balls while causing nine turnovers. Perry has scored on over 50 percent of her shots. Kuhlman has a 19-7-26 scoring line with 24 draw controls, 21 ground balls and 10 caused turnovers.

Gaeng ranks second for the Panthers in points (50) and assists (18) while ranking third on the team with 23 goals. She also has 33 draw controls on the season, one behind team-leader Lila Mastroberti. She was 2011 NLC Player of the Year and is High Point’s all-time scoring leader. Dougherty has an 11-7-18 scoring line out of the midfield and totaled 24 ground balls, 17 assists and 12 caused turnovers while starting all 16 games.

High Point featured a balanced attack this year with seven players notching double-digit goal totals. The Panthers are currently 8-8 overall and went 6-1 in Big South play heading into the conference tournament. The Panthers play Longwood in the semifinals on Friday at 7 p.m. and the winner will advance to the championship game against either Davidson or Liberty on Sunday at 2 p.m. The semifinals and championship game are all at Davidson’s Richardson Stadium.

All-Big South First Team
ATT    Emily Cooke, Soph., Davidson
ATT    Mackenzie Carroll, Jr., High Point
ATT    Lauren Prasnicki, Jr., Longwood
MF     Alec Perry, Jr., High Point
MF     Jamie Brentlinger, Sr., Longwood
MF     Sara Kuhlman, Jr., High Point
MF     Shannon Gallagher, Fr., Winthrop
MF     Jen Freymond, Sr., Liberty
D      Jasmine Jordan, Jr., High Point
D      Abigail Doelger, Sr., Davidson
D      Kathleen Battle, Jr., Longwood
GK     Jessica Melby, Sr., Davidson
AL     Ann Fucigna, Jr., Davidson
AL     Emily Rademacher, Soph., Davidson
AL     Cloey Henchcliffe, Jr., Campbell

All-Big South Second Team ATT Loren Day, Fr., Campbell ATT Grace Gaeng, Sr., High Point ATT Megan Wallenhorst, Fr., Winthrop MF Alanna Parker, Sr., Davidson MF Lily Yednock, Soph., Coastal Carolina MF Nina Dunay, Jr., Liberty MF Mary Barondess, Jr., Longwood MF Jaime Beamish, Jr., Presbyterian College D Chloe McIntosh, Gr., Liberty D Paige Logan, Jr., Davidson D Alyssa Blevins, Soph., Winthrop GK Kristin Masullo, Jr., Liberty AL Hayley Krause, Fr., Winthrop AL Madeline Ciardi, Fr., Coastal Carolina AL Christie Dougherty, Jr., High Point

All-Academic Team
Taelar Errington, Jr., MF, Campbell
Lily Yednock, Soph., MF, Coastal Carolina
Abigail Doelger, Sr., D, Davidson
Jasmine Jordan, Jr., D, High Point
Chloe McIntosh, Gr., D, Liberty
Jamie Brentlinger, Sr., MF, Longwood
Melinda Vasconcellos, Sr., D, Presbyterian College
Mary Accomando, Soph., MF, Winthrop

Offensive Player of the Year
Emily Cooke, Soph,, ATT, Davidson

Defensive Player of the Year
Jasmine Jordan, Jr., D, High Point

Freshman of the Year
Shannon Gallagher, MF, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Kim Wayne, Davidson

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Lily Yednock, Soph., MF, Coastal Carolina