NCHSAA State 1-A Boy’s Golf Bhampionships: 1st Day

CHAPEL HILL—Tanner Owen of Kernersville Bishop McGuinness had the only sub-par round on Monday’s first day of the 16th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 1-A men’s golf championships at the Chapel Hill Country Club.

Owen, who was fourth in the individual standings a year ago, had a two-under 70 to open up a four-shot advantage over teammate Jonathon Davis. McKenzie Barringer of Voyager Academy in Durham is in third at 75.

The course is set at par 72 and 6,619 yards for the NCHSAA event.

Bishop McGuinness, the defending team champion which won by a whopping 52 shots a year ago, is in a much closer battle this time. The Villains hold a 14-shot lead over second-place Lake Norman Charter, with East Surry in third at 327 and Riverside-Martin in fourth at 330. East Surry won four consecutive championships from 2005 through 2008.

The best four of six individual scores count toward the team total.

Prior to 1986, all NCHSAA schools competed for a single title in an open tournament. Play went to three classifications in 1986 and then to four classes beginning with the 1998 tournaments.

A total of 84 golfers began play in the two-day tournament. Action is scheduled to resume at eight o’clock on Tuesday morning.

Chapel Hill Country Club—Monday’s Results


Kernersville Bishop McGuinness            305
Lake Norman Charter                       319
East Surry                                327
Riverside-Martin                          330
Avery County                              333
West Montgomery                           343
Durham NC School of Science and Math      368
Southwest Onslow                          375
Hayesville                                379
Franklin Academy                          383
Rosewood                                  392
Midway                                    412


First Name Last Name (School)             1st Rd.
Tanner Owen (Bishop McGuinness)           70
Jonathon Davis (Bishop McGuinness)        74
McKenzie Barringer (Voyager Academy)      75
Jake Blum (Lake Norman Charter)           76
Dylan Kennedy (West Montgomery)           76
Keenan Denny (South Stokes)               77
Colyn Petty (Swain)                       77
Jordan Taylor (West Montgomery)           77
Harley Foster (Avery County)              78
Jordan Vogler (East Surry)                78
Chance Watson (Avery County)              79
Blake Fiest (Lake Norman Charter)         79
Logan Wynne (Riverside-Martin)            79
Mason Orr (Bishop McGuinness)             80
Drew Alley (East Surry)                   80
McKinley Johnson (East Wilkes)            80
Ben Catonni (Lake Norman Charter)         80
Whit Ross (Riverside-Martin)              80
Tyler Ross (Union)                        80
Kevin Sowinski (Bishop McGuinness)        81
Tyler Boquet-Caron (NCSSM)                81
Jack Edwards (East Surry)                 82
Nick Adams (Rosewood)                     82
Kyle Stone (Spring Creek)                 83
Zack Shields (Bishop-McGuinness)          84
Nathan Moore (Franklin Academy)           84
Landon Ragley (Lake Norman Charter)       84
Grady Colburn (Lejeune)                   84
Taylor Cowan (Riverside-Martin)           84
Jacob Wallace (Hayesville)                86
Max Bosco (Highlands)                     86
Daniel Childress (Avery County)           87
Joseph Marion (East Surry)                87
Grant Lewis (Franklin Academy)            87
David Thornton (Pine Lake Prep)           87
Cole West (Riverside-Martin)              87
Nick Lisle (SW Onslow)                    87
Trey Goodson (SW Onslow)                  88
Shea Buchanan (Avery County)              89
Aaron Thomas (Highland School of Tech)    89
Andrew Millsaps (East Surry)              90
Matt Hall (Goldsboro)                     90
Jake Massey (Lake Norman Charter)         90
Noah Wilson (NCSSM)                       90
Tyler Futrell (Riverside-Martin)          90
Austin Tausch (SW Onslow)                 92
Gabe Jacobs (Hayesville)                  93
Robert Brooks (Bishop-McGuinness)         94
Caleb Sanders (Midway)                    94
Walker Harrison (West Montgomery)         94
Duncan Brown (NCSSM)                      95
Tyler Braun (Midway)                      96
Terell Marshall (West Montgomery)         96
Jacob Waldroop (Avery County)             97
Dylan Champion (Rosewood)                 97
Martin Lehmann (Avery County)             98
Josh Sprinkles (Hayesville)               98
Gunner Franklin (River Mill Academy)      99
Dustin Hutchens (East Surry)             100
Justin Flanagan (Hayesville)             102
Chris Sharer (Hayesville)                102
Michael Holroyd (Lake Norman Charter)    102
Ryan Phillips (NCSSM)                    102
Vamsi Yechoor (NCSSM)                    102
Clark Gurganus (Riverside-Martin)        102
Connor Davis (Hayesville)                103
Jacob Rosentreter (Franklin Academy)     105
Dylan Green (Rosewood)                   106
Devon McKluskey (Franklin Academy)       107
Ben Edwards (Midway)                     107
Andrew Henn (Rosewood)                   107
Josh Moore (SW Onslow)                   108
Josh Burris (West Montgomery)            108
Weston Lineberry (West Montgomery)       109
Blake Pennington (Franklin Academy)      111
Zach Dixon (Midway)                      115
Clay Honeycutt (Midway)                  116
Spencer Marr (Franklin Academy)          117
Cole Gagnon (SW Onslow)                  117
Jeremy Mercer (Rosewood)                 118
Jaz Verceles-Zar (Rosewood)              120
Chris Dixon (Midway)                     122
Chase McCurry (SW Onslow)                129
Andy Yang (NCSSM)                        137