College Golf News – Ratner, Thompson Named to Division III PING All-America Teams

Norman, Okla.—The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced Monday morning that Guilford College’s Drew Thompson will join Noah Ratner on the Division III PING All-America Teams. Ratner’s first team honor was announced at the end of the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championship in May while Thompson was garned Third Team All-America honors.

Ratner earned his third straight First Team honor, a school record, to add to his three consecutive Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Player of the Year awards. Ratner was also named to the 2013 PING All-South Region Team last May at the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championship. The graduating senior posted a stroke average of 73.07 in 27 rounds, the sixth lowest average in school history. Ratner ends his career at Guilford with a 73.435 stroke average in 108 rounds, the second lowest in school history. His 108 rounds stands as the most rounds played in the school’s Division III history. Ratner tied a school record with five medalist honors, which included the 2013 ODAC Championship. The GCAA awarded Ratner in 2012 with the Jack Nicklaus Award, honoring the top golfer in Division III.

Thompson earned his first All-America honor after finishing 2013 with a 75.04 stroke average in 25 rounds. The sophomore placed in the top-10 twice during the spring, including a fourth place finish at the Camp Lejeune Intercollegiate where he posted a season and career-best 66 in the second round. Thompson finished one spot and five strokes behind Ratner to earn second place at the 2013 ODAC Championship. Thompson also joined Ratner on the 2013 PING All-South Region Team in May.

The duo helped Corey Maggard’s Quaker squad finish 17th at the NCAA Championships and secure a league-record 13th ODAC title, their third consecutive league crown. The Quakers look at return as many as 10 letterwinners in the fall, including Thompson.

Division III PING All-America Teams

First Team
Cory Howard, LaGrange
Brian Jaeger, Christopher Newport
Alex Kolquist, Gustavus Adolphus
Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe
Noah Ratner, Guilford
Brad Shigezawa, CMS
Casey Vangsness, Saint John’s
Mike Wesko, Methodist

Second Team
Alex Andrews, Wittenberg
Andrew Bateman, Methodist
Bobby Holden, Redlands
Stefan Johnson, Illinois Wesleyan
Alex Kapraun, St. Thomas
Mikey McGinn, California Lutheran
Eric Quinn, Oglethorpe
Oliver Rudnicki, Whitworth

Third Team
Ian Bangor, Carnegie Mellon
Chris Blyth, St. John Fisher
Cameron Button, Southwestern
James Charles, Southwestern
Johnathan Chen, Emory
Anthony DiLisio, Skidmore
John Dukes, UT Tyler
Bobby Erhardt, Wesley
Ben Fister, Transylvania
Dennis Granath, Saint John’s
Josh Grisa, UW-Stout
Buddy Hallman, UT Tyler
Wes Hillen, Millikin
Clay Hinton, Transylvania
Onni Hurri, Averett
Hayden Jones, Oglethorpe
Jantzen Latham, Transylvania
Drew Lynch, Saint John’s
John McCord, Redlands
Tyler McMorrow, Gustavus Adolphus
Nick Palladino, Rochester
Andrew Peter, Luther
Joe Radulski, St. John Fisher
Andrew Thompson, Guilford
Jeff Wells, Methodist
Jake Whelan, St. Lawrence
Oliver White, Allegheny
Kenny Wienckowski, Illinois Wesleyan
Alex Wunderlich, Emory
Derek Zachman, La Verne