NCCSIA Announces 2012 North Carolina College Division All-State Women’s Soccer Team

The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) announced its selections for the 2012 College Division All-State Women’s Soccer College Division Team on Wednesday. Twenty-one players representing 12 different North Carolina Colleges and Universities were named to the Women’s Soccer All-State teams.

Lenoir-Rhyne University leads all schools with four first-team selections. Wingate University and UNC Pembroke each have two members on the first team while Mars Hill University, Meredith College and Salem College each are represented by one player.

Caitlin Scruggs of Lenoir-Rhyne earned first team recognition in goal following a stellar senior campaign. Scruggs helped lead the Bears to a 16-2-2 finish with an appearance in the NCAA Division II Tournament. She allowed only nine goals on the season for a goals-against average of 0.49, while posting eight shutouts. Scruggs also ranked third in the nation with a 0.889 save percentage and earned First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference and NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region honors.

Lenoir-Rhyne freshman Brianna Belsky was named first-team All-State in her first collegiate season. Belsky scored three goals and had five assists while anchoring a defense that allowed just 11 goals in 20 games. She was a Daktronics Division II Honorable Mention All-American as well as an NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region and All-South Atlantic Conference First Team selection.

UNC-Pembroke senior Fanny Forsman and Wingate University senior Kelly Moldenhauer round out the defensive honorees. Forsman scored four goals, with two assists, and was named to the Peach Belt All-Conference Team and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-Region Team.

A first-team All-South Atlantic Conference selection, Moldenhauer also earned All-Region honors. She scored two goals, including the tying goal in the final minutes of SAC Tournament semifinals, helping the Bulldogs advance to their third-straight South Atlantic Conference title match and second-straight NCAA Tournament appearance. Moldenhauer led a defense that allowed just 1.26 goals and 11 shots per contest in 2012.

Anchoring the midfield position is the Lenoir-Rhyne duo of senior Carley Griffin and sophomore Hanna Kiebel. Both players earned All-South Atlantic Conference and NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region honors. Griffin finished the season with two goals and five assists while Kiebel added five goals and four assists on the year.

Also at the midfield position are Mars Hill junior Alyssa Morris and Meredith College sophomore Danielle Lee. Morris was a second-team All-South Atlantic Conference selection after leading the conference with eight assists. Lee garnered second-team USA South All-Conference recognition after netting six goals with two assists for 14 total points.

The top scorer on the 2012 College Division All-State Team was Jade Montgomery of Wingate University. The All-American sophomore forward led the nation in goals with 21 while ranking second in points with 48 and game-winning goals with seven. Montgomery recorded a streak of ten-consecutive games with at least one point and was named the South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year.

Joining Montgomery at the forward position are Salem College sophomore Sawyer Ferguson and UNC Pembroke sophomore Amalia Arvidsson. Ferguson finished the year with 19 goals and seven assists for 45 points to lead Salem to a 16-3-1 season. Arvidsson recorded an All-State College Division best 11 assists to go along with 13 goals for 37 points.

The NCCSIA All-State second team is comprised of UNC Pembroke’s Britney Bennett and Rae-Shawna Campbell, Catawba College’s Anna Toole, Mount Olive College’s Patrice Clarke, Salem College’s Stephanie Hubbard, Greensboro College’s Meredith Kelly, Queens University of Charlotte’s Nadia Butt, Guliford College’s Jaclyn Nucci, Meredith College’s Jessie Davis and Lenoir-Rhyne University’s Leah Mullins.

Nominees were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals and voted on by the NCCSIA members.

Founded in 2002, The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina. The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools. Membership is open to anyone affiliated with a college, university or conference located in North Carolina, and whose area of responsibility lies within sports information.

NCCSSIA selects all-state teams in the University (Division I) and College (Division II, III, NAIA) divisions for men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, softball and baseball.

North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association
2012 College Division All-State Women’s Soccer Teams

First Team
Pos.  Name                                Class  School                         Hometown
GK    Caitlin Scruggs%                    Sr.    Lenoir-Rhyne University        Torrance, Calif.
D     Brianna Belsky                      Fr.    Lenoir-Rhyne University        Egg Harbour Township, N.J.
D     Kelly Moldenhauser                  Sr.    Wingate University             Mint Hill, N.C.
D     Fanny Forsman&                      Sr.    UNC Pembroke                   Boras, Sweden
M     Alyssa Morris                       Jr.    Mars Hill College              Forked River, N.J.
M     Danielle Lee                        So.    Meredith College               Smithfield, N.C.
M     Carley Griffin&                     Sr.    Lenoir-Rhyne University        Fresno, Calif.
M     Hanna Kiebel                        So.    Lenoir-Rhyne University        Parker, Colo.
F     Jade Montgomery&                    So.    Wingate University             Monroe, N.C.
F     Amelia Arvidsson                    So.    UNC Pembroke                   Boras, Sweden
F     Sawyer Ferguson                     So.    Salem College                  Billings, Mont.
Second Team
Pos.  Name                                Class  School                         Hometown
GK    Brittney Bennett&                   Jr.    UNC Pembroke                   Seminole, Fla.
D     Anna Toole                          Jr.    Catawba College                Greenville, S.C.
D     Patrice Clarke                      Sr.    Mount Olive College            Jacksonville, N.C.
D     Stephanie Hubbard                   Jr.    Salem College                  Sanford, N.C.
M     Meredith Kelly                      Sr.    Greensboro College             Snow Camp, N.C.
M     Nadia Butt                          Fr.    Queens University of Charlotte Huston, Texas
M     Jaclyn Nucci                        Sr.    Guilford College               Gambrills, Md.
F     Rae-Shawna Campbell                 Fr.    UNC Pembroke                   Wilmington, N.C.
F     Jessie Davis                        Jr.    Meredith College               Fuquay-Varina, N.C.
F     Leah Mullins                        Fr.    Lenoir-Rhyne University        Kissimmee, Fla.

& - Named to 2011 All-State Team
% - Named to 2010 All-State Team