Elon Women’s Cross Country Capture Wake Forest Relay Title

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The Elon women’s cross country team had a strong start to its 2013 season as the Phoenix captured the team title at the Wake Forest Relays on Friday, Aug. 30. The women won the title for the second straight year at the relay-style meet, while the men finished as the runner-up.

The Phoenix women earned nine points against its competition, finishing ahead of host Wake Forest (12 points) and Southern Conference foe UNCG (24 points). On the men’s side, the Phoenix had 12 points as the Demon Deacons won the men’s crown with nine points.

“On the women’s side, I thought we really looked good up front,” said Elon head cross country coach Christine Engel. “A lot of our athletes from top to bottom really stepped up and competed well. I thought today overall was a really great competitive group effort for the first outing of the season.”

The women’s tandem of freshman Kimberly Johansen and junior Tereza Novotna won the meet with a time of 31:53. The men’s pairing of Luis Vargas and Ben Perron captured the men’s title after clocking in a 36:00.

In third place on the women’s side was sophomore Elyse Bierut and freshman Shelby Cuddeback with a time of 32:04. Crossing the line in fifth was the duo of Jenny Gallagher and Kaitlin Snapp, who posted a time of 32:15.

Brennan McDavid and Erin Macbeth finished seventh with a time of 34:04 followed by Sabina Bains and Jackie Madden with a 34:15 and in eighth. Kylie Womack and Kaitlin Stober finished 10th with a time of 34:38 while Amanda Parker and Emily Dunne was 11th after clocking in a 34:48.

On the men’s side, Nick Schneider and Ari Rothschild finished fifth with a time of 38:16. James Stevenson and Nick Foley were eighth with a 38:38 followed in ninth by Ian O’Leary and Adam Bernstein who rounded out the men’s scores with a 38:44.

The Phoenix returns to the course to host its home event, the Elon Invitational, on Sept. 14. The meet will take place on the Elon cross country course with the women’s race scheduled for a 9 a.m. Start.