Wil Myers(Wesleyan) and Jose Fernandez(Greensboro Grasshoppers) Rookies of the Year:’Triad Sweep’

Coming in from www.espn.com:

Jose Fernandez(Greensboro Grasshoppers) topped fellow Cuban Yasiel Puig for the NL Rookie of the Year award on Monday.

The right-hander went 12-6 with a 2.19 ERA and 187 strikeouts for a Miami Marlins team that finished with a 62-100 record.

Wil Myers(Wesleyan Christian Academy/High Point, N.C.) of the Tampa Bay Rays won the AL award after putting up impressive offensive numbers in barely half a season.

The right fielder received 23 of 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, beating out Detroit shortstop Jose Iglesias and Rays teammate Chris Archer.

Myers becomes the third Tampa Bay player in six years to be selected Rookie of the Year, joining pitcher Jeremy Hellickson (2011) and third baseman Evan Longoria (2008).

The 22-year-old Myers batted .293 with 13 home runs and 53 RBIs in only 88 games after he was called up from the minors June 18. He immediately added much-needed power to the middle of the Rays’ lineup, helping them reach the playoffs as an AL wild card.