Field Set for College 7s National Championships in Greensboro- USA Rugby

BOULDER, Colo. – The teams to assemble in Greensboro, N.C., for the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship have been named. Forty-eight teams in three separate divisions will compete from Nov. 23-24 for a sevens National Championship.

During the last seven weeks, teams across the country have been participating in automatic qualifying tournaments. The winners of the automatic qualifying tournaments were each rewarded with an invitation to the College 7s National Championship. The remaining field was awarded at-large selections by USA Rugby’s Collegiate Championship Committee.

The Men’s Division I four-pool tournament will consist of 24 teams. Sixteen women’s rugby clubs will vie for a National Championship, while eight of the best teams from the Division II and Small College ranks will compete for the first-ever College 7s National Championship in a Men’s Open Division.

Highlighting the 2013 field are the Men’s DI Champions from 2011 – Arkansas State – and 2012 – Life University – as well as Norwich Women’s Rugby Club, which took first place at the event each of the past two years. USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez is very pleased with the schools competing in this year’s National Championship.

“The Championship Committee is thrilled with the team’s who’ve earned their way to Greensboro,” said Cortez. “It’s a very competitive field of schools representing every corner of the country and includes teams that have competed in the National Championships in years past, as well as teams who are making their first appearance at Nationals.”

Men’s Division I
Air Force
Arizona State
Arkansas State
Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo
Central Washington
Colorado State
Middle Tennessee State
North Carolina State
North Texas
Oregon State
San Diego State
San Jose State
South Carolina
Saint Mary’s

Women’s Division
George Washington
Georgia Tech
James Madison
Ohio State
Oregon State
Penn State
Sam Houston State

Men’s Open Division
James Madison
New Hampshire
Sonoma State
UW Stout
(Winner of the Southern DII 7s)

Seedings will be announced later in the week. For information on the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship, visit the official website. Fall tournament recaps are also available on the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship website:

Saint Mary’s College won its host event, Battle in the Bay.
The women of James Madison had their way at NOVA 7s.
Arkansas State got its revenge on Life at South Independent 7s.
Principia won the Gateway crown.
Central Washington dominated the Northwest field.
Cal women took first at Oregon State 7s.
Cal Poly won the California State University 7s.
Oklahoma swept through the Allied Rugby Conference.
The Lady Longhorns won their conference championship.
Sonoma State was the DII Nor Cal champs.
Air Force qualified by winning the Cougar 7s.
The Cardinal 7s was won by James Madison.
Texas is off to Nationals after its Southwest Conference win.
The Heart of America was won by Arkansas.

2013-14 Emirates Airline Collegiate 7s National Championships
November 23-24
Bryan Park Soccer Complex
Greensboro, NC

Info Packets
DII Info
National Qualifying Sevens Tournaments