Elon Volleyball’s Estes, Karle Earn All-SoCon Honors

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference announced today, Nov. 20, that Elon volleyball’s Cali Estes and Ally Karle have been named to the 2013 SoCon volleyball all-conference teams. Estes was a second-team selection, while Karle was named to the league’s all-freshman team.

The teams and awards were voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for themselves or their own players.

Estes, a right-side hitter and setter, is one of the best all-around players in the league and consistently makes an impact on both sides of the ball. The senior has posted an incredible six triple-doubles this year, as well as four double-doubles. She has recorded career highs in every category in 2013, including 21 kills against Furman, 48 assists at Charlotte, 20 digs against Davidson, six blocks against South Carolina and three aces in two matches. The Carmel, Ind., native was named to the 49er Invitational all-tournament team earlier in the season.

Karle, a middle blocker, has made a name for herself in just one season with the Phoenix. The freshman leads the team with a .298 hitting percentage and ranks 10th in the conference in league play. Her career high came at Furman on Nov. 9 when she tallied 18 kills after posting 16 kills at Wofford the previous night. On defense, she has a career-high seven blocks and is averaging .90 blocks/set. On Nov. 11, the Flanders, N.J., native was named the SoCon Freshman of the Week after hitting .406 and averaging 4.25 kills and 1.12 blocks per set.

Elon begins the 2013 SoCon Volleyball Tournament on Friday, Nov. 22, as the Phoenix face Georgia Southern at 12:30 a.m. in Timmons Arena in Greenville, S.C.

2013 Southern Conference All-Conference Teams
All-Conference First Team
Emily Corrigan – Appalachian State
Christina Dorismond – Furman
Kym Coley – Georgia Southern
Jamie DeRatt – Georgia Southern
Karrian Chambers – UNCG
Katie Murphy – Samford
Michaela Reesor – Samford

All-Conference Second Team
Lauren Gray – Appalachian State
Carolina Brown – Davidson
Cali Estes – Elon
Jo Wilks – Furman
Katlin Minnerly – Georgia Southern
Stephanie Palmer – Samford
Jordan Timmermann – Western Carolina
Taylor Baird – Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Mikayla Derochie – Davidson
Ally Karle –Elon
Annie Bierman – Furman
Ashton Gregory – Furman
Sara Hohman – UNCG
Erin Bognar – Samford
Gabbi Greenwald – Samford

Player of the Year
Michaela Reesor – Samford

Libero of the Year
Chelsi Carter – Samford

Freshman of the Year
Ashton Gregory – Furman

Coach of the Year
Michelle Young – Furman