Elon’s Troutman Earns All-District Men’s Basketball Honors

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced NABC Division I All-District teams for the 2013-14 season today, March 12. Elon University senior forward Lucas Troutman was a first team selection in District 22.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 252 student-athletes, from 25 districts, are eligible for the NABC Coaches’ Division I All-American teams.

An All-Southern Conference honoree this season, Troutman started 31 games for the Phoenix this season, averaging 15.8 points per game and 6.2 rebounds per game. Troutman also tallied a team-best 58 blocked shots this season, bringing his career total to 213 – the most in Elon history and the most among active players in the Southern Conference (sixth all-time in league history). Troutman ended his career with 1,626 points, good for ninth all-time in school history. Troutman was named the SoCon Player of the Week on Feb. 25 and scored in double figures in 27 of his 31 games played this season. Troutman ended the year shooting 53 percent from the field and 71 percent from the free throw line.

NABC District 22
First Team
De’Mon Brooks, Davidson
Z. Mason, Chattanooga
Karl Cochran, Wofford
Lucas Troutman, Elon
Trey Sumler, Western Carolina

Second Team
Jelani Hewitt, Georgia Southern
Tim Williams, Samford
Stephen Croone, Furman
Kyle Cain, UNCG
Lee Skinner, Wofford