WSSU wins CIAA Baseball Tournament and Ray Crawford(Dudley HS) is adds Tournament MVP to his honors

Ray Crawford(Dudley HS), Devin Mclemore(Westchester Country Day) and Scott Wells(GDS/Northern Guilford) all made the All-Tournament team from WSSU and Ray Crawford was named CIAA Tournament MVP….Rams are on another roll, now with four straight CIAA Baseball Tournament Titles….

from the WSSU athletics web site:(

Ettrick, VA – The Rams of Winston-Salem State University are the CIAA Baseball Champions for the fourth consecutive season after a 9-5 victory against Virginia State University in the championship game held on Saturday, April 19th at Whaley Colbert Field on the campus of VSU.

With the win, WSSU improves their overall record to 33-14 and will await their seeding for the 2014 NCAA Division II Atlantic Regional Tournament with today’s automatic berth.

The Rams held a lead in this contest from wire to wire. Despite location and based on tournament seeding, Virginia State was the visiting team in the game and batted first. In the top of the first, the Trojans produced one hit, but failed to score a run in the inning.

WSSU delivered one run along with a hit in the bottom of the first, starting with Gavin Culler, who headed to first base after being hit by a pitch. CIAA Player of the Year, Ray Crawford, followed up with a single to center field, advancing Culler to second. An error by the third baseman put Colby Keene on first and brought home Culler for the initial score of the contest. The score remained 1-0 in favor of the Rams until the bottom of the fourth.

In the fourth, Winston-Salem State exploded with seven hits and six runs to expand their lead to 7-0. VSU allowed an additional run in the sixth inning. Crawford smacked a RBI double in bottom of the sixth to bring Culler for a score. The Trojans trailed 8-0 and were held scoreless until the top of seventh.

In the top of the seventh, an error in right field by Crawford opened the door for a VSU comeback. Tyshaun Taylor loaded the bases after the error in right field. Colton Gunn crossed home plate off a fielder’s choice from Jamison Griffin. Nicholas Christopher hit a RBI double to score Griffin two batters later. Tyler Coleman scored off an errant throw at third base. Christopher eventually came home for the fourth and final run of the inning.

Neither team scored again until the bottom of the eighth. The Rams put up two hits and one run in the eighth, including a RBI single by Colby Keene. Heading into the ninth inning, the score was 9-4 in favor of the Rams. VSU made their last attempt at a rally with two hits and one run in the ninth. Zachery Jordan singled to right field for a run batted in (RBI) to score James Goodwin from third.

However, that would be the last run scored as Joshua Markins grounded out to second base to close the game. Scott Wells was charged with the victory on the mound for WSSU. He pitched eight innings, including six scoreless innings. Wells finished with eight hits and four runs allowed (all unearned) along with three strikeouts.

Ray Crawford adds Tournament MVP and All-Tournament Team honors to his list of season accolades.

Winston-Salem State still has two regular season games remaining, as tune ups for the NCAA Regional. The Rams will travel to Milledgeville, GA on Tuesday for a matchup with West Georgia, before returning home on Friday to take on Bluefield State.

A complete list of the 2014 CIAA All-Tournament Team is below:

2014 CIAA Baseball All-Tournament Team

Colton Gunn – Third Base/Pitcher – Virginia State

Nicholas Christopher – Utility – Virginia State

Alex Grubb – Designated Hitter – Winston-Salem State

Jeremy Sandifer – Pitcher – Saint Augustine’s

Colby Wiggins – Short Stop – Chowan

Tashaun Taylor – Outfield – Virginia State

Blake Eure – Second Base – Chowan

Devin McLemore – First Base – Winston-Salem State

Conner Andrus – Catcher – Winston-Salem State

Ray Crawford – Outfield – Winston-Salem State

David Markins – Catcher – Virginia State

Scott Wells – Pitcher – Winston-Salem State

2014 CIAA Baseball Tournament MVP

Ray Crawford – Outfield – Winston-Salem State