College Men’s Golf News – Guilford Tabbed for 20th NCAA Tournament


GUILFORD’S BID: By virtue of its victory in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Tournament April 29, Guilford College’s men’s golf team earned an automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Division III Championships. The full 41-team field was announced May 5 and contains 30 automatic qualifiers and 11 at-large selections. Five competitors will play as individuals, rounding out the 210-man field. The national championships will be held May 13-16, at the Grandover Resort and Conference Center in Greensboro, N.C. Guilford and the Greensboro Sports Commission serve as the tournament hosts.

The team and individual champions will be determined after 72 holes of play or the conclusion of the last fully completed round. After 36 holes, the field will be cut to the top-15 teams and top-five individuals not on one of those teams.

GUILFORD VS. THE 2014 NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS FIELD: The Quakers met 15 of the other 40 teams in the field during the regular season and compiled a 25-11-2 record in those meetings. Guilford’s 2013-14 records versus the 15 teams are as follows: Berry (4-0), Concordia (Texas) (1-0), Illinois Wesleyan (3-1), LaGrange (3-1), Mary Hardin Baylor (2-0), Methodist (3-3), Oglethorpe (1-2-1), Rhodes (2-0), St. John Fisher (0-2), St. John’s (Minn.) (1-0), Schreiner (1-0), Southwestern (Texas) (1-0), Transylvania (2-1), Webster (1-0), Wittenberg (0-1-1).

GUILFORD IN THE NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: Guilford received its 20th NCAA Championships bid in 23 years of NCAA membership and fifth in as many years. The Quakers won their second national title in four years in 2005 with a 25-stroke triumph over the University of Redlands at the Mission Inn Resort in Howey-In-The-Hills, Fla. Guilford captured the 2002 NCAA Championship with a six-stroke victory over Greensboro College at the Firethorn Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb. The title marked the program’s first NCAA Division III title in any sport. The Quakers qualified for the NCAA Division III Championships in seven consecutive years after leaving the NAIA ranks in 1991.