Elon Golfer DiIanni Named All-American Scholar

NORMAN, Okla. – Rising Elon senior men’s golfer Jonathan DiIanni was recognized as one of 206 NCAA Division I members of the 2015 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars team. This marks back-to-back years that a Phoenix golfer has earned a spot on the team.

DiIanni, a native of Kernersville, N.C., carries a 4.0 GPA as a finance major. He led the Phoenix with a 74.52 stroke average over 29 rounds in 11 events over the 2014-15 season. A two-time CAA Golfer of the Week, DiIanni twice shared medalist honors this season. The first came at the Maryland Terrapin Invitational where he tied for first out of 75 players with a mark of 214 (71-72-71). He then tied for first out of 72 players at the Greenbrier Collegiate Invite with a two-round score of 137 (67-70). In Elon’s first-ever CAA Championship, DiIanni tied for ninth with a 222 (77-69-76). His performance helped the maroon and gold to eight top-10 team finishes in 11 tournaments over the 2014-15 season. DiIanni was selected to the Capital One Academic All-District 3 Men’s At-Large Team following his junior campaign, was a member of the CAA All-Academic Team and was named Elon’s male recipient of the A.L. Hook Scholar-Athlete award that is given to the junior or senior student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA.

To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar honors, an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50 percent of his team’s competitive rounds, have a stroke average under 76.0 and maintain a minimum GPA of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Elon’s All-Time Men’s All-America Scholars
1986 – Chris Dockrill
1990 – Richie Burke
1993 – Jim Arnold
1995 – Brian McArthur
1996 – Brian McArthur
1997 – Donough Forde
2000 – John Marshall
2001 – John Marshall
2002 – Ryan Loucks
2003 – Ryan Loucks
2004 – Ryan Loucks
2005 – Keith Orlen
2006 – Louis Rittberger
2010 – Phil Bartholomew
2014 – Will DiIanni
2015 – Jonathan DiIanni