NCHSAA Student Athlete Advisory Council Members Named For 2015-16 Academic Year

CHAPEL HILL — The North Carolina High School Athletic Association Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) recently held its first meeting of the 2015-16 academic year.

The SAAC was developed in order to serve as a voice for student-athletes who participate in NCHSAA programs. Members discuss topics that are relevant to high school student-athletes and develop ways to maintain a positive athletic experience.

SAAC members, who normally serve two-year terms, represent the over 200,000 students who participate in NCHSAA programs and regularly report to the NCHSAA Board of Directors. The Council is also responsible for promoting the ideals of the NCHSAA, including sportsmanship, leadership, integrity, and citizenship, in various forms.

The SAAC includes 16 student-athletes, two from each of the NCHSAA regions. They are selected from nominations by member schools and include student-athletes who possess leadership characteristics, are positive role models, and exemplify the tenets of the NCHSAA Student Services program and sportsmanship.

These students also volunteer to work at least one NCHSAA state championship event and also help host the NCHSAA Student Leadership Conference as well as completing one community service project per academic year.

Chiquana Dancy, NCHSAA director of sports, championships and student services, works directly with the council.

Here are this year’s SAAC members:

Region 1:  Delores Watford, sophomore, Hertford County
           Jaxon Wiley, junior, D.H. Conley, Greenville
Region 2:  Ian Niggles, senior, West Brunswick
           Greyson Goodson, junior, White Oak, Jacksonville
Region 3:  Ryan Laatz, junior, Carrboro
           Justin Sauer, senior, Millbrook, Raleigh
Region 4:  Caleb Edkins, senior, South View, Hope Mills
           Emily Yarborough, senior, Terry Sanford, Fayetteville
Region 5:  Tommy Johnson, senior, Woods Charter, Chapel Hill
           Lily Sorsenginh, junior, Graham
Region 6:  Avery Lewis, senior, David Butler, Matthews
           Annie Habeeb, junior, Gray Stone Day, Misenheimer
Region 7:  Ashley Bornkamp, senior, Mooresville
           Rebekah Daye, senior, North Wilkes
Region 8:  Emma Raleigh, junior, Smoky Mountain, Sylva
           Katie Walsh, junior, Robbinsville