Elon’s Williams Claims Spot on FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Elon University senior defensive back Miles Williams was selected as one of 52 winners of the 18th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team.

Williams is the first Elon player to earn this recognition since running back A.J. Harris collected the accolade for the third consecutive season in 2011. He is the first defensive player from Elon to be named to this team.

Williams, a defensive back from Roebuck, S.C., boasts a 3.55 GPA as a human service studies major. Williams, a senior on the field, graduated cum laude last spring, but recently completed course work for graduate school. He started all 11 games and posted 71 total tackles. Williams led the team with two interceptions, forced three fumbles and recovered another. In Elon’s win at Stony Brook, Williams tallied a personal best 12 tackles. He was been named to the Dean’s List three times and the President’s List once. He was a 2014 CAA Academic All-Conference pick as well as a 2012 Southern Conference Academic All-Conference honoree. The two-time team captain was named to the 2013 AFCA All-State Good Works Team. In November, Williams was one of two Phoenix players to collect a spot on the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team.

Over the course of his career in the maroon and gold, Williams played in 43 games and recorded 208 total tackles. He finished with 4.5 tackles for loss, including a sack, and added four forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and four interceptions.

“The FCS ADA is proud to recognize its Academic All-Star Team for the 18th consecutive year,” stated FCS ADA President Jeff Tingey, director of athletics, Idaho State University. “It is extremely admirable what our football student-athletes continue to accomplish in the classroom and on the field and we are excited to recognize them for their efforts.”

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Elon’s All-Time FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Members
2002 – Brandon Mason, OL
2002 – Josh Rowan, OL
2003 – Brandon Mason, OL
2004 – Brandon Mason, OL
2006 – Wes Pope, QB
2009 – A.J. Harris, RB
2010 – A.J. Harris, RB
2011 – A.J. Harris, RB
2015 – Miles Williams, DB