Elon’s Dave Blank Named to NCAA Division I Baseball Committee

INDIANAPOLIS – Elon University Director of Athletics Dave Blank will help determine future collegiate baseball tournament fields after being appointed to a four-year term on the prestigious NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Blank will be a part of the 10-person committee that selects the annual 64-school tournament field. His four-year tenure on the committee begins on Sept. 1, 2016, and continues through Aug. 31, 2020.

“It is an honor to be selected to serve on the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee,” Blank said. “I am excited about this tremendous opportunity and I look forward to contributing in every way possible to the future of college baseball.”

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee is responsible for selecting, seeding and bracketing the entire 64-team tournament field, which currently includes the automatic qualification of 31 conference champions with the remainder of the field selected as at-large choices by the committee.

The NCAA Division I Baseball Championship includes three rounds of play – the regionals, super regionals and Men’s College World Series. The Men’s CWS is held in Omaha, Neb., each year.

Blank has served the NCAA extensively throughout his administrative career. He served on the NCAA Division I Leadership Council from 2011-13, and from 2008-11, he served on the NCAA Division I Championships/Sports Management Cabinet. He has also served as a member of the NCAA I-AA Governance and Football Issues Committee.