Elon Men’s Golf: DiIanni Named 2016 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-American Scholar

NORMAN, Okla. – Elon men’s golfer Jonathan DiIanni was recognized as one of 212 NCAA Division I members of the 2016 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars team. This marks the third consecutive year that a Phoenix golfer has earned a spot on the team and the second time for DiIanni.

DiIanni, who carries a 4.0 GPA as a finance major, also claimed his first-career Scholar-Athlete of the Year award from the CAA on June 23.

In addition, DiIanni adds the honor to his numerous awards earned this season, including his CoSIDA Academic All-America accolade on June 9. He became the first Elon men’s golfer to earn Academic All-America honors since John Marshall was named to the first team in 2001. DiIanni also was awarded a spot on the CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 Men’s At-Large Team for the second consecutive season. Additionally, he was selected to the All-CAA Men’s Golf Second Team and also tabbed a spot on the league’s all-academic team. He recently earned Elon’s male recipient of the A.L. Hook Scholar-Athlete award for the second consecutive year. The award is given to the junior or senior student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA.

DiIanni led the Phoenix with a 72.41 stroke average over 27 rounds in 10 events. His season average of 0.67 score vs. par ranks first in the program’s Division I era for a single season and his stroke average was the second lowest for a single season during the golf program’s time as a Division I program. For the first time in his career, DiIanni earned a spot on the Conference All-Tournament team after finishing tied for fifth individually at this year’s CAA Championships. The Kernersville, N.C. native finished the season with three top-10 finishes and placing in the top-five twice at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate and the CAA Championships.

To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50-percent of his team’s competitive rounds, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 77.0 in NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Elon’s All-Time Men’s All-America Scholars
1986 – Chris Dockrill
1990 – Richie Burke
1993 – Jim Arnold
1995 – Brian McArthur
1996 – Brian McArthur
1997 – Donough Forde
2000 – John Marshall
2001 – John Marshall
2002 – Ryan Loucks
2003 – Ryan Loucks
2004 – Ryan Loucks
2005 – Keith Orlen
2006 – Louis Rittberger
2010 – Phil Bartholomew
2014 – Will DiIanni
2015 – Jonathan DiIanni
2016 – Jonathan DiIanni