Three HiToms make 2016 All-CPL Team, plus Kyle Smith(Grimsley HS/Catawba) and Devin Sweet(Southeast Guilford HS/N.C. Central) on Second Team


Almond, Clements, Sullivan Garner CPL Honors

High Point/Thomasville,NC – On the heels of a successful 2016 campaign and a berth in the Coastal Plain League playoffs, three High Point-Thomasville HiToms were named to the 2016 All-CPL Team.

Catawba sophomore, Zach Almond was the HiToms lone first team recipient claiming All-CPL catcher honors. The Richfield, NC native was named to the CPL All-Star in July and paced the HiToms with eight home runs, seven doubles and 41 RBI.

Reid Clements from Middle Tennessee State was one of two Tommies named to the ALL-CPL second team. The Ooltewah, TN native posted a stellar 1.55 earned run average with 46 strikeouts in 29 innings pitched. The sophomore, right-hander also led the HiToms with 16 appearances and an opponent’s batting average of just .236. Joining Clements on the All-CPL second team is Gardner-Webb junior Daniel Sullivan. The Denver, NC native captained the Tommies offense with 10 doubles, four home runs, a .281 batting average and 32 RBI.


The Coastal Plain League is excited to announce the 2016 All-CPL First and Second teams. Each team features 24 players: one player per each infield position, four designated hitter/utility players, five outfielders, six starting pitchers and four relief pitchers.

The team is highlighted by CPL Hitter of the Year Will Shepherd of Peninsula, and Pitcher of the Year Connor Riley of Wilmington. Joining them are a number of standout talents, evident by 10 CPL Players of the Week. Those include Andrew Webster (Wilson,week 2), Zachary Almond (HP-Thomasville, week 3), Will Shepherd (Peninsula, week 4), Jameson Hannah (Savannah, week 5), Marcus Reyes (Martinsville, week 5), Tony Rosselli (Edenton, week 6), Zachary Files (Florence, week 7), Richard Cunningham (Edenton, week 8), Chaz Miller (Forest City, week 8), and Dillon Stewart (Holly Springs, week 10.)

Also making the team were multiple category leaders: batting average (Will Shepherd, .407), slugging percentage (Zachary Files, .625), on-base percentage (Zachary Files, .524), runs scored (Tony Rosselli, 45), hits (Richard Cunningham, 71), runs batted in (Alec Bohm, 51), doubles (Aaron Aucker, 17), triples (Kyle Smith, Clint Hardy and Kyle McPherson, 4), home runs (Tony Rosselli, 14), total bases (Trey Hair, 114), stolen bases (Logan Baldwin, 36), earned run average (Beau Sulser, 1.21), opposing batting average (Beau Sulser, .167) batters struck out (Connor Riley, 100), innings pitched (Mike Castellani, 68 1/3), wins (Alex Yarem, 7) and saves (Chaz Miller, 13).

Below is the complete list for both the First Team and Second Team postseason All-Stars:

First Team
C – Zac Almond (HP-Thomasville / Catawba)
1B – Darian Carpenter (Peninsula / Virginia Commonwealth)
2B – Zachary Files (Florence / Florida International)
3B – Alec Bohm (Wilmington / Wichita State)
SS – Danny Sheehan (Holly Springs / San Diego State)
DH/UTL – Kyle McPherson (Peninsula / James Madison)
DH/UTL – Austin Dennis (Forest City / Middle Tennessee St.)
DH/UTL – Andrew Webster (Wilson / Barton)
DH/UTL – Brett Auckland (Lexington County / Presbyterian)
OF – Will Shepherd (Peninsula / Liberty)
OF – Jameson Hannah (Savannah / Dallas Baptist)
OF – Dillon Stewart (Holly Springs / UNC Greensboro)
OF – Tony Rosselli (Edenton / Indiana State)
OF – Clint Hardy (Savannah / Augusta University)
SP – Connor Riley (Wilmington / USC Aiken
SP – Beau Sulser (Savannah/ Dartmouth)
SP – Luke Watts (Morehead City / Appalachian St.)
SP – Barrett Loseke (Gastonia / Arkansas)
SP – Colby Weaver (Savannah / Dallas Baptist)
SP – Marcus Reyes (Martinsville / San Diego State.)
RP – Ryan Kelly (Wilmington / Saint Joseph’s)
RP – Chaz Miller (Forest City / Bluefield College)
RP – Robbie Hiser (Peninsula / Norfolk State.)
RP – Josh Maciejewski (Gastonia / Charlotte)

Second Team
C – Franco Guardascione (Peninsula / Jacksonville)
1B – Daniel Sullivan (HP-Thomasville / Gardner Webb)
2B – Trey Hair (Edenton / Evansville)
3B – Rylan Bannon (Savannah / Xavier)
SS – Cletis Avery (Wilmington / Presbyterian)
DH/UTL – Christian Campbell (Morehead City / Rutgers)
DH/UTL – Kurt Sinnen (Peninsula / Old Dominion)
DH/UTL – Aaron Aucker (Edenton / Middle Tennessee St.)
DH/UTL – Matt Simmons (Gastonia / Gardner Webb)
OF – Mark Donadio (Wilmington / Fordham)
OF – Richard Cunningham (Edenton / Baylor)
*****OF – Kyle Smith (Asheboro / Catawba)*****….Grimsley HS product…..
OF – T.J. Nichting (Asheboro / Charlotte)
OF – Logan Baldwin (Wilson / Georgia Southern)
SP – Nick Yobbi (Fayetteville / USC Aiken)
SP – Chris Gau (Peninsula / Jacksonville)
*****SP – Devin Sweet (Asheboro / NC Central)*****SEG product…..
SP – Mike Castallani (Wilmington / Bucknell)
SP – JT Rogozewski (Holly Springs / North Carolina)
SP – Alex Yarem (Wilson / Campbell)
RP – Reid Clements (HP-Thomasville/ Middle Tennessee St.)
RP – John Luke Curtis (Morehead City/ Lenoir Rhyne)
RP – Kory Behenna (Holly Springs/ Wingate)
RP – Tom Colletti (Florence / Ohio)

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 20th season in 2016, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had nearly 1,300 alumni drafted and 90 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, like us on Facebook at Coastal Plain Leagye and follow us via Twitter and Instagram @CPLBaseball.

Shelby Hilliard