Elon MBB’s Seibring Named Third-Team Academic All-American

AUSTIN, Texas – Elon University men’s basketball sophomore Tyler Seibring was named to the 2017 Academic All-America third team for NCAA Division I men’s basketball on Thursday in an announcement by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Seibring is the 12th overall Academic All-America selection in Elon men’s basketball history, and is the eighth player overall in program history to earn the Academic All-America honor. Seibring gives Elon its third Academic All-American since becoming a Division I program and its first selection since 2011. Drew Spradlin was also a third-team selection six years ago.

An economics and English double major from Normal, Ill., Seibring was named to Capital One Academic All-District 3 Men’s Basketball Team on Feb. 9 to qualify for the Academic All-America selection. This season, the sophomore has twice been named the CAA Player of the Week. He was also a 2016 Preseason All-CAA selection, was named to the 2016 CAA All-Rookie last year as a freshman, and has been on the President’s List every semester as a Phoenix.

Seibring leads Elon in scoring and rebounds with averages of 14.4 points and 6.9 rebounds per game. In conference games alone, Seibring is bettering his overall numbers with 15.9 points and 7.3 rebounds in league play, which rank ninth and sixth in the league, respectively.

He has scored in double figures 22 times in 31 games this season, including four 20-point efforts and one game with 30 points. He has also grabbed eight or more rebounds in 12 games and posted double digit rebounds three times this season. In conference play, Seibring has scored double figures in 14 of the 18 league games.

Seibring is shooting 47.0 percent from the floor, 39.5 percent from three-point range and 74.4 percent from the free throw line. He has also helped a defense that ranks first in the conference in field goal percentage defense, contributing with a team-high 27 blocks this season. Seibring is averaging a team-high 32.7 minutes per game this season, and has already eclipsed the 1,000-minute mark with 1,014 played through 31 games.

2017 NCAA Division I Academic All-Americans
First Team

Canyon Barry, Florida
Joshua Braun, Grand Canyon
A.J. Jacobson, North Dakota State
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga

Second Team
Evan Bradds, Belmont
Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt
Eric Mika, BYU
Semi Ojeleye, SMU
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue

Third Team
Steven Cook, Princeton
Jordan Howard, Central Arkansas
Matt O’Leary, IUPUI
Tyler Seibring, Elon
Steven Spieth, Brown