Elon’s Loeb and May Collect All-CAA Men’s Golf Honors

RICHMOND, Va. – Elon University men’s golfers Philip Loeb and Charlie May were recognized with All-CAA honors, the Colonial Athletic Association league office announced on Tuesday, May 2. Loeb received All-CAA Second Team honors and May earned a spot on the All-Academic Team.

Loeb, a sophomore from Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., earns his first-career all-conference selection after posting a team-best 73.48 stroke average over 23 rounds of action. Both his stroke average and versus par total (1.83) rank eighth in the program’s Division I single-season record books. He finished the season with five top-25 finishes and placed in the top-15 at the Phoenix Invitational, the Hummingbird Invitational and the Pinehurst Intercollegiate. He was also named the team’s Most Valuable Player at the Elon Athletics Awards Banquet on Monday night.

May was named to the league’s all-academic team as he sports a 3.87 GPA as a finance major. It is the first-career all-conference recognition for May. The Topsfield, Mass. native, completed his junior season with four top-25 finishes and had a 74.76 stroke average. He also was Elon’s male recipient of the A.L. Hook Scholar-Athlete award at the Elon Athletics Banquet. The award is given to the junior or senior male and female student-athletes with the highest cumulative GPA.

2017 All-CAA Men’s Golf Teams

First Team
Ryan Cole, James Madison
Patrick Cover, UNCW
Patrick Derby, College of Charleston
Thomas Eldridge, UNCW
William Rainey, College of Charleston

Second Team
Matt Cowgill, James Madison
Philip Loeb, Elon
Marc Oliveri, Delaware
Shota Ozaki, James Madison
Poom Pattaropong, James Madison

CAA Men’s Golfer of the Year: William Rainey, College of Charleston
CAA Men’s Golf Rookie of the Year: Michael Sass, College of Charleston
CAA Men’s Golf Coach of the Year: Mark McEntire, College of Charleston

All-Academic Team
Mark Benevento, Delaware
Sean Cavanaugh, Hofstra
Yoseph Dance, Drexel
Thomas Eldridge, UNCW
David Hicks, William & Mary
Charlie May, Elon
Ryan Cole , James Madison
Philip Oweida, College of Charleston
Juan Veloza, Towson